

International Energy Conservation Code E4C-HVACR Subcommittee

Meeting Agenda

January 12, 2023 11:00 AM EDT to 1:00 PM EST Webex Link

Committee Chair: John Bade, representing the California Investor Owned Utilities **Committee Vice Chair:** Blake Shelide, Oregon Department of Energy

1. Call to order-Chair or vice-chair

2. Meeting Conduct. Staff

- a. Identification of Representation/Conflict of Interest
- b. ICC Council Policy 7 Committees: Section 5.1.10 Representation of Interests
- c. ICC <u>Code of Ethics</u>: ICC advocates commitment to a standard of professional behavior that exemplifies the highest ideals and principles of ethical conduct which include integrity, honesty, and fairness. As part of this commitment, it is expected that participants shall act with courtesy, competence and respect for others.

3. **Roll Call** – Establish Quorum- John Bade

First Name	Last Name	Category	Company
Christopher	Arnold	Consumer	Grand forks Public Schools
John	Bade	Utility	2050 Partners
Drake	Erbe	Standards Promulgator	ASHRAE
Henry	Ernst	Manufacturer	Daiken
Mark	Heizer	Gov. Regulator	Oregon Bldg Codes Div
Gary	Klein	User	Self
Jeff	Kleiss	Manufacturer	Lochinvar (AO Smith)
Benjamin	Levie	Consumer	UCSF
Dick	Lord	Manufacturer	Carrier
Frank	Morrison	Manufacturer	Baltimore Aircoil
Christopher	Perry	Gov. Regulator	US DOE
Daniel	Nall	Gov. Regulator	Dan Nall Consultant/ AIA
Laura	Petrillo-Groh	Manufacturer	AHRI
Kevin	Rose	Public Segment	NEEA
Shannon	Corcoran	Utility	American Gas Assoc.
Blake	Shelide	Gov. Regulator	Oregon Dept of Energy
Amin	Tohmaz	Gov. Regulator	City of San Antonio
Doug	Tucker	Manufacturer	Mitsubishi
Jeremy	Williams	Gov. Regulator	US DOE
James	Yeoman	Gov. Regulator	City of Orem

4. **Review of Notes** June 9, 2022, December 1, 2022, and December 15 meetings. Per staff direction, subcommittees do not have minutes, but notes. These do not need a vote

5. Approval of Agenda

6. Old Business - none

7 Review and possibly vote on the following public comments

Proposal Number	Code Section(s)	description	proponent	Subcommittee Member Lead	
CED1-178-22	C409.1	Deletion of TSPR Section	Ted Williams	Blake Shelide	
CED1-179-22	CE101.1	Deletion of Appendix CE	Ted Williams	Blake Shelide	
CED1-152-22	C202	DOAS definition correction	Nicholas O'Neil	John Bade	
CED1-172-22	C406.2 Table	W09 SHW flow adjustments	Reid Hart	Dan Nall, Chris Perry, Doug Maddox, Gary Klein	
CED1-173-22	C406.2.2.5	H05 DOAS energy credit clarification	Reid Hart	Dan Nall, Chris Perry, Doug Maddox, Gary Klein, , Laura Petrilloh Groh	
CED1-174-22	C406.2.3.2	W05 Point of use water heaters	Reid Hart	Dan Nall, Chris Perry, Doug Maddox, Gary Klein	
CED1-176-22	C406.3.7	G06 SHW demand response	Reid Hart	Dan Nall, Chris Perry, Doug Maddox, Gary Klein	12-Ja
CED1-165-22	C403.7.1	Demand control ventilation exception	Thomas Nagy	Doug Maddox/ Michael Tillou	12-Ja comm Circul PNNL

8. **Updates on other public comments**. Reports from subcommittee response leads on progress working with commenters.

9. Comments for the next meeting. Finalize the list of comments to be discussed at the January 26, 2023 meeting.

Proposal Number	Code Section(s)	Description	Proponent	Subcommittee Member Lead	Scheduled HVACR and Water Heating Subcommittee Hearing Date
CED1-166-22	C403.7.2	Parking garage ventilation modifications	Greg Johnson	Laura Petrillo- Groh	
CED1-169-22	C403.8.1	Fan Power proposal modifications	Laura Petrillo- Groh	Skip Ernst	
CED1-156-22	C403.3.2	Update efficiency tables to match ASHRAE 90.1	Steven Rosenstock	John Bade	

Copyright © 2022 International Code Council, Inc.

Proposal Number	Code Section(s)	Description	Proponent	Subcommittee Member Lead	Scheduled HVACR and Water Heating Subcommittee Hearing Date
CED1-157-22	C403.3.2(6) Table	Boiler table	Nicholas O'Neil		Hold pending court case
CED1-161-22	C403.4.6	HVAC demand response	Reid Hart	Dan Nall, Chris Perry, Doug Maddox, Gary Klein, Laura Petrillo-Groh	
CED1-162-22	C403.4.6	Demand responsive space conditioning	Alex Smith	Doug Maddox	
CED1-167-22	C403.7.4	Nontransient dwelling units HRV/ERV exception	Alex Smith	John Bade	
CED1-170-22	C404.10	Demand response water heaters exception	Greg Johnson	Doug Maddox	
CED1-175-22	C406.3	Load management and renewable intro	Reid Hart	Dan Nall, Chris Perry, Doug Maddox, Gary Klein	Removed to Modeling Subcommittee
CED1-177-22	C408.2	Mechanical systems SWH commissioning reqs	Aaron McEwin	Jeff Kleiss	

10. Other business.

• Members to bring up any new business

11. Upcoming meetings.

a. January 12, 2023 at 11:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m. Eastern Time and every two weeks thereafter $\,$

12. Adjourn.

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION BE SURE TO VISIT THE ICC WEBSITE: ICC Energy webpage
Code Change Monograph

FOR ADDITIONAL INFORMATION, PLEASE CONTACT EITHER

- John Bade, Subcommittee Chair at johnbade@2050partners.com.
- Blake Shelide, Subcommittee Vice-Chair at blake.shelide@energy.oregon.gov