

International Energy Conservation Code Electric Power, Lighting, and Renewables (PLR) Subcommittee

Meeting Agenda

Feb. 10, 2023 11:00 AM EST to 2:00 PM EST (3-hours) Webex Link

Committee Chair: Michael Jouaneh (<u>mjouaneh@lutron.com</u>); Committee Vice Chair: Jack Bailey (<u>jbailey@oneluxstudio.com</u>); Note Taker: Michael Myer (<u>Michael.myer@pnnl.gov</u>)

1. Call to order – Jouaneh [start 11:02 am]

2. Roll Call – Bailey (11 SC voting members needed for quorum)

	First Name	Last Name	Category	Company
Χ	Ali	Alaswadi*	Gov. Regulator	DC
x	Jack	Bailey*	User	One Lux Studio/Int'l Assoc. of Lighting Designers
	Bernard	Bauer	User	Integrated Lighting Concepts
Х	Payam	Bozorgchami	Gov. Regulator	CA Energy Comm
Х	Joe	Cain	Manufacturer	Solar Industries Assoc
Х	Nick	Ferzacca	User	IMEG Corp.
Χ	Anthony	Floyd*	Gov. Regulator	City of Scottsdale
	Glenn	Heinmiller	User	Lam Partners/Int'l Assoc. of Lighting Designers
Х	Bryan	Holland*	Standards Promulgator	NEMA
Х	Harold	Jepsen	Manufacturer	Legrand
Х	Michael	Jouaneh*	Manufacturer	Lutron
	Joyce	Kelly	User	GLHN Architects & Engineers
Χ	Andrew	Klein*	Consumer	BOMA
Х	Mark	Lien	Standards Promulgator	IES
Х	Jon	McHugh	Gov. Regulator	McHugh Energy
Χ	Норе	Medina*	Gov. Regulator	Cherry Hills Village
Χ	Melissa	Moseley*	User	HDR/American Society of Interior Designers
	Susan	Musngi*	Consumer	Camden
	Michael	Myer	Consultant	PNNL
Х	Steven	Rosenstock*	Utility	Edison Electric Institute
Х	Wayne	Stoppelmoor	Manufacturer	Schneider Electric
	Mitchell	Tolbert	Gov. Regulator	City of Austin
Х	Michael	Turns	Utility	MA Program Administrator

^{*}denotes member of EC4 consensus committee

3. Introduction of any guests -- Bailey (name/representation type into chat)

Jason Vandever - NAIMA

Jim Earley – Edison Electric Institute

Vanessa Warheit – Plug-in America

Michael Tillou - PNNL

Alex Smith - NAHB

Amy Martino – Building Site Synergy

Andrea Lanier Papagorge – Souther Company Group

Charles Eley – Architecture 2030

Greg Johnson – National Multifamily Housing Council

Katherine Cunningham – Ad Hoc Group

Noeleni Derrickson - Tesla

Norman Wang – (left call before identifying his affiliation)

Randy Plumlee - SPEER

Sam Bauer - AHG

Sean Denniston – New Buildings Institute

Jason Vandever - NAIMA

Alex Smith - NAHB

- 4. Review/approve agenda Jouaneh
- 5. Meeting conduct -- Jouaneh
- 6. Review key actions from last meeting and approve minutes Jouaneh [end by 11:10 am]

Bryan Holland motioned to approve minutes & Steve Rosenstock seconded.

7. Update on process/schedule – Jouaneh/Bailey

On schedule per Jack if we finish today's agenda

8. New business. [end by 1:50 pm]

EV (12)

CEPC1-004-22	C405.14	EV comment	Payam Bozorgchami
		Payam said no need to discuss	
CEPC1-005-22	C405.14	EV power transfer infrastructure	David Hochschild
		Payam said no need to discuss	
CEPC1-006-22	C405.14.5.1	EV code support	Noelani Derrickson
		No Discussion	
CEPC1-015-22		EV energy monitoring support	Diana Burk
		No discussion	

CEPC1-016-22		EV support	Ingrid Malmgren
		Vanessa W. discussed these comments	
CED1-038-22 C405.14		EV charging infrastructure as an Appendix	Greg Johnson
		Greg Johnson spoke that this applies to the scope and quantity of chargers needed eliminating mandatory R2 requirements. Steve R. opposed stating it adds no value putting this in appendix. Vote was 14 to disapprove, no opposed and Chair not voting	Reason: The committee wishes to include the EV charging requirements to all occupancies previously required including R-2 occupancies.
CED1-040-22	C405.14	Eliminate requirement for EV	Ted Williams
		Sean Dennison opposed this proposal, it addresses functionality when EV is onsite so it is more restrictive without benefit. Jon moved to disapprove, and Steve R. seconded. 12 to disapprove, 0 opposed and Chair not voting.	Reason: Committee desires to keep requirements for EV Charging including the number of spaces in the body of the standard based on prior actions.
CED1-039-22	C405.14	EV Technical Re-write	Bryan Holland
		Bryan said these make this more user-friendly noting that the nameplate on the charger should be referenced not the charging rate as this is a variable. Sean D. proposed combining this with C103.2. Straw poll: equal vote to table 39 or to move to approve 39. Motion to approve as submitted: - 1st - Bryan Holland - 2nd - Harold Jepsen - Vote: 9 yes 5 no 1 abstain - Chair not voting	Reason: Provides important technical revisions, clarity and more enforceable language for EV charging
CED1-016-22	C103.2	EV Technical Re-write	Sean Denniston
		Sean Dennison – not withdrawing, however, if you approve this, it will overwrite CED1-039. Recommends disapproval Motion to disapproval: - Steve Rosenstock - Bryan Holland	Reasons: Based on action taken on CED1-39

		Vote: 12 yes 0 no 1 abstainChair not voting	
CED1-041-22	C405.14.1	EV Scope	Alex Smith
		Discussion of public level 2 vs level 3 Motion of disapproval - Harold Jepsen - Bryan Holland - Vote: 11 yes 0 no 1 abstain - Chair not voting	Reason: Maintaining significant EV charging requirements are needed in R2 occupancies to support GHG reduction efforts. Possible conflicts with residential code.
CED1-043-22	C405.14.1	EV Scope	Amy Martino
		Amy addressed this proposal. Discussion ensued. Vanessa made specific change requests. Motion for disapproval: - 1 st - Anthony Harold - 2 nd - Wayne - Vote: 9 yes 0 no 6 abstentions - Chair not voting. 9-0-6	Reason: Maintaining a 3 ft. requirement is critical to providing future connections and this does not improve the technical requirements of the first draft.
CED1-044-22	C405.14.1	EV Scope	Andrew Poliakoff
		Meeting ended before getting to 044	
CED1-045-22	C405.14.1 Table	EV Scope	Sam Bauer
CED1-046-22	C405.14.2	EV Scope	Don Chandler
CED1-047-22	C405.14.4	EVSE interoperability	Sam Bauer
CED1-048-22	C405.14.5.1	EV circuit capacity management	Emily Kelly
CED1-042-22	C405.14.1	EV Scope	Charles Eley

9. Other business – Jouaneh [end by 1:59 pm]

• <u>Teams site</u>

10. Future meeting(s): **Feb. 24, 2023, 11 am – 2 pm ET**

10. Adjourn **[2:00 pm]**

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION BE SURE TO VISIT THE ICC WEBSITE:

ICC Energy webpage Code Change Monograph FOR ADDITIONAL INFORMATION, PLEASE CONTACT: Subcommittee Chair



