

International Code Council IECC Commercial Consensus Committee Draft Meeting Minutes

Meeting Date: January 5, 2022

Committee Chair: Duane Jonlin
Committee Vice Chair: Emily Hoffman

1. Call to order. The meeting was called to order at approx. 2:31 pm Eastern Time.

2. Roll Call. Chair Duane Jonlin, Vice-Chair Emily Hoffman, Ali Alaswadi, Danielle Ashley, Jack Bailey, Zepherinus Church Norbert, Greg Eades, Matt Belcher, Scott Brooks, Diana Burk, Richard Burton, Chris Clausing, Thomas Culp, John Dalzell, Charles Eley, Vincent Martinez (alt), Drake Erbe, Anthony Floyd, Greg Grew, Stephen Harris, Bryan Holland, Greg Johnson, Adrian Jones, Michael Jouaneh, Vladimir Kochkin, Emily Lorenz, Hope Medina, Don Mock, Melissa Moseley, Shaunna Mozingo, Susan Musngi, Dan Nall, Christopher Perry (alt), Laura Petrillo-Groh, Darren Port, Kevin Rose, Steve Rosenstock, Blake Shelide, Thomas Schultz, Michael Tillou, Amin Tohmaz, Michael Rosenberg (alt), Jeremy Williams, Amber Wood, James Yeoman

Committee members in attendance: (42 in attendance 3 absent)

Not in attendance: Glenn Heinmiller (alt), Andrew Klein, Robert Ross, David Goldstein ICC Staff in attendance:

Kris Stenger, Mike Pfeiffer, Ed Wirtschorek, Jason Toves, Shawn Martin

- 3. Approval of the Minutes from 12/9-Motion to approve as modified by Greg Johnson. Second by Anthony Floyd. Approved unanimously.
- 4. Approval of Agenda-Motion to approve by Greg Johnson. Second by Matt Belcher. Approved unanimously.
- 5. Nomination of Nick Ferzacca to fill vacant voting member position on Electrical Power, Lighting, and Renewables Subcommittee. Motion by Michael Jouaneh. Second by Bryan Holland. Approved Unanimously.
- 6. 3 minutes of fame Ali Alaswadi
- 7. Administrative issues. The balloting of the all Consensus Committee Members concluded related to the following procedure for Proponents. The procedure is as follows:

Proponents who are voting members shall be allowed to vote and speak in committee discussion on their own proposals under all IECC standards proceedings. Such Proponents shall be responsible for disclosing their representation under CP 7 Section 5.1.10.

8. Action Items

- a) Code Change Proposals
 - 1) CEPI-226-21. Proponent Darren Meyers. Motion by Anthony Floyd to Approve as modified. Second by Greg Johnson. Motion passes 37-2 chair not voting.
 - CEPI-8-21 Part I. Proponent BCAC represented by Mike Nugent. Motion to approve by Greg Johnson. Second by Emily Lorenz. Motion passes 36-2-1.
 - 3) CEPI-18-21. Proponent Craig Conner not present. Introduction by Amy Boyce. Motion to approve by Greg Grew. Second by Matt Belcher. Motion fails 34-4. Motion to disapprove by Greg Johnson. Second by Anthony Floyd. Motion approved 34-4. Reason that having tables in both provisions is more user friendly and avoids issues with adoption.
 - 4) CEPI-187-21. Proponent Jack Bailey. Motion to approve as modified by the subcommittee by Anthony Floyd. Second by Steven Rosenstock. Motion passes 38-0.
 - 5) CEPI-254-21. Proponent Lisa Rosenow. Motion to approve by Emily Lorenz. Second by Matt Belcher. Motion passes 38-0.
- 9. Construction Cost & Life Cycle Cost Temporary Advisory Group report.

Michael Tillou, chair of the advisory group, provided an update on the work of the advisory group to this point. The Advisory Group has conducted a series of straw polls on key issues. Next meeting Friday, January 7.

10. Subcommittee Reports

- a) Envelope and Embodied Energy-SC Chair Tom Culp. Next meeting Jan 6. Have grouped proposals into topic areas. Will start with air leakage.
- b) Electrical Power, Lighting, and Renewables-SC Chair Michael Jouaneh-Next meeting Jan 10. Will be discussing proposals on Bio Mass, horticulture lighting, and a group of proposals on EV infrastructure.
- c) HVACR and Water Heating-SC Chair Shaunna Mozingo-Next meeting on Jan 13. Have a group of 10 proposals on the agenda.
- d) Modeling, Whole-Building Metrics, Zero Energy-SC Vice Chair Charles Eley-Next meeting Jan 18. Will be discussing proposals within C406 that will guide how future proposals will be evaluated.

11. Other Business

Discussion on method of public input during the discussion of action items.

12. Upcoming meetings. The next meeting with be Wednesday, January 26 from 2:30 to 4:30 pm Eastern Time

13. Adjourn. The meeting was adjourned at approx. 4:04 pm Eastern time.

FOR FURTHER IECC Commercial INFORMATION BE SURE TO VISIT THE ICC WEBSITE: IECC Commercial Website

FOR ADDITIONAL INFORMATION, PLEASE CONTACT:

Kristopher Stenger, AIA, CBO Director of Energy Programs International Code Council kstenger@iccsafe.org