

International Code Council IECC Commercial Consensus Committee Draft Meeting Minutes

Meeting Date: February 9, 2022

Committee Chair: Duane Jonlin
Committee Vice Chair: Emily Hoffman

1. Call to order. The meeting was called to order at approx. 2:31 pm Eastern Time.

2. Roll Call. Chair Duane Jonlin, Vice-Chair Emily Hoffman, Ali Alaswadi, Danielle Ashley, Jack Bailey, Gina Bocra (alt), Scott Brooks, Zepherinus Church Norbert, Diana Burk, Richard Burton, Kim Cheslak (alt), Chris Clausing, Thomas Culp, John Dalzell, Greg Eades, Charles Eley, Vincent Martinez (alt), Drake Erbe, Anthony Floyd, David Goldstein, Stephen Harris, Glenn Heinmiller (alt), Bryan Holland, Greg Johnson, Adrian Jones, Michael Jouaneh, Andrew Klein, Vladimir Kochkin, Emily Lorenz, Hope Medina, Don Mock, Melissa Moseley, Shaunna Mozingo, Susan Musngi, Dan Nall, Christopher Perry (alt), Laura Petrillo-Groh, Darren Port, Kevin Rose, Michael Rosenberg (alt), Steve Rosenstock, Robert Ross, Blake Shelide, Thomas Schultz, Michael Tillou, Amin Tohmaz, Amber Wood, James Yeoman

Committee members in attendance: (46 in attendance 5 absent)

Not in attendance: Matt Belcher, Paula Cino (alt), Greg Grew, Lauren Urbanek (alt), Jeremy Williams

ICC Staff in attendance:

Kris Stenger, Mike Pfeiffer, Ryan Colker, Dave Walls, Jason Toves, Shawn Martin

- 3. Approval of the Minutes from 1/26-Motion to approve by James Yeoman. Second by Bryan Holland. Approved unanimously.
- 4. Approval of Agenda-Motion to approve by Bryan Holland. Second by Adrian Jones. Approved unanimously.
- 5. 3 minutes of fame Scott Brooks
- 7. Administrative issues. Standing motions on proposal will be taken from the subcommittee recommendation
- 8. Action Items
 - a) Code Change Proposals
 - 1) CECPI-1-21 (EV Readiness). Proponent Electrical Subcommittee. Chair Jonlin opened the discussion that per interpretation of Section C101.3

Copyright © 2021 International Code Council, Inc.

Intent that the proposal would not be within the scope of the base code, which requires "minimum efficiency requirements for buildings that result in the maximum level of energy efficiency..." and only allowed within a voluntary appendix. Discussion followed – confusion arose from others related to previous discussions with staff that alluded to this proposal lying within the intent of the code. Proponents voiced that as written, the proposal language is only suited for the base code and would require rewriting to fit a voluntary appendix. Prior to an action a straw poll was taken to the committees preferred placement of the language. 21 members voted within the body of the code and 14 members voted within a voluntary appendix. A motion was made by Emily Hoffman to table the proposal until further clarification to the scope of the IECC is provided by the board with a time certain of 4 weeks. Second by Jack Bailey. Motion passes 29-6.

- 2) CEPI-142-21 (Grid Integrated Inverters). Proponent Kim Cheslak. Motion to approve as modified by Steve Rosenstock. Second by Diana Burk. Modification to add "or on-site electrical" Motion passes 31-0-1.
- 3) CEPI-60-21 (Electrical Communication Boxes). Proponent Megan Hayes. Envelope Subcommittee recommended approved as modified. Motion approved 37-0.
- 4) CEPI-102-21 (Humidity Controls). Proponent Emily Toto. HVACR Subcommittee recommended approval as modified. Greg Johnson offered friendly amendments regarding setpoints and percentages. Motion passes 36-1-0.
- 5) CEPI-106-21 (Outdoor Air Relief). Proponent Emily Toto. Motion to approve as modified. Modification to change reference to C403.8. passes 28-0.
- 6) CEPI-111-12 (Parking Garage Ventilation). Proponent Emily Toto. Recommended approval by HVACR Subcommittee. Discussion on need to improve the language. Motion fails 15-20-1. Motion to return to subcommittee by Greg Johnson. Second by Shaunna Mozingo 30-4.
- 7) CEPI-87-21 (HVAC Performance Requirements). Proponent Glory O'Brien. Motion to disapprove on recommendation of HVACR subcommittee. Reason statement: The proposal is problematic since it could lead to violation of federal preemption, and the language is also vague and unenforceable. Motion passes 31-0-1.
- 8) CEPI-89-21 (DX unit Climate Zone Exception). Proponent Glory O'Brien. Motion to disapprove on recommendation of HVACR subcommittee. Reason Statement: The proposal would exempt AHRI 920 for dry climate zones, but AHRI 920 covers more than just dehumidification performance and it is not appropriate to simply remove the requirement completely for certain climate zones. Motion passes 34-1-1.

9. 3 minutes of fame – Danielle Ashley

10. Subcommittee Reports

a) Envelope and Embodied Energy-SC Chair Tom Culp. Will be discussing roofing and air leakage proposals. Meetings will now be scheduled for 3 hours to meet schedule.

Copyright © 2021 International Code Council, Inc.

- b) Electrical Power, Lighting, and Renewables-SC Chair Michael Jouaneh-Next meeting Feb 14. Will be looking at mandatory renewables. Meetings will now be scheduled for 3 hours to meet schedule.
- c) HVACR and Water Heating-SC Chair Shaunna Mozingo-Next meeting on February 10th. Will be discussing tables recently reviewed at ASHRAE
- d) Modeling, Whole-Building Metrics, Zero Energy- Chair Greg Eades-have created two subcommittees. One addressing proposals to Section 406 and another looking at the 18 proposals for Appendix CC.
- 11. Construction Cost & Life Cycle Cost Temporary Advisory Group report.

Michael Tillou, chair of the advisory group, provided an update on the work of the advisory group to this point. Next meeting Friday, Feb 11.

12. Other Business

Discussion on announcing of votes during meeting. Staff provided recap of all votes. Joe Cain requested the committee to consider taking a break during the ICC meetings in Rochester.

- 13. Upcoming meetings. The next meeting with be Wednesday, February 23 from 2:30 to 4:30 pm Eastern Time
- 14. Adjourn. The meeting was adjourned at approx. 4:35 pm Eastern time.

FOR FURTHER IECC Commercial INFORMATION BE SURE TO VISIT THE ICC WEBSITE: IECC Commercial Website

FOR ADDITIONAL INFORMATION, PLEASE CONTACT:

Kristopher Stenger, AIA, CBO Director of Energy Programs International Code Council kstenger@iccsafe.org