

## International Code Council IECC Commercial Consensus Committee Draft Meeting Minutes

Meeting Date: August 16, 2023

Committee Chair: Duane Jonlin

Committee Vice Chair: Emily Hoffman

1. Call to order by Chair Duane Jonlin. The meeting was called to order at approx. 2:01 pm Eastern Time.

2. Roll Call. Chair Duane Jonlin, Vice-Chair Emily Hoffman, Ali Alaswadi, John Bade, Jack Bailey, Richard Burton, Payam Bozorgchami, Chris Clausing, Jay Crandell, Thomas Culp, Sean Denniston, Greg Eades, Drake Erbe, Anthony Floyd, David Goldstein, Stephen Harris, Gary Heikkinen (alt), Bryan Holland, Greg Johnson, Michael Jouaneh, Andrew Klein, Emily Lorenz, Vincent Martinez (alt), Hope Medina, Michael Melley, Don Mock, Susan Musngi, Dan Nall, Christopher Perry (alt), Douglas Powell (alt), Kevin Rose, Michael Rosenberg (alt), Steve Rosenstock, Blake Shelide, Michael Tillou, Michael Waite

Committee members in attendance: (34 in attendance 11 absent)

Not in attendance: Gina Bocra (alt), Paula Cino (alt), Amber Wood (alt), Shannon Corcoran, Jeremy Williams, Lauren Urbanek (alt), Mark Lyles (alt), Laura Petrillo-Groh, Thomas Deary (alt), James Yeoman, Ann Livingston, Charles Eley, Glenn Heinmiller (alt), Amin Tohmaz, Robert Ross, Scott Brooks, Matt Belcher, Zepherinus Church Norbert, John Dalzell, Vladimir Kochkin, Melissa Moseley

ICC Staff in attendance:

Kris Stenger, Jerica Stacey, Ed Wirtschoreck, Beth Tubbs

- 3. Approval of the Minutes from August 9-motion to approve by Bryan Holland with a second from Richard Burton. Approved unopposed.
- 4. Approval of Agenda- motion to approve by Emily Lorenz with a second from Bryan Holland. Approved unopposed.
- 5. Administrative items-none at this time.
- 6. Action Items
  - a) CE2D-37-23 PI(EV circuit capacity) Proponent Quincy Davis. Introduction by Michael Jouaneh chair of the Electrical power, lighting, and renewables subcommittee. Motion to

Copyright © 2021 International Code Council, Inc.

- disapprove. Motion to disapprove passes 27-2-1. Reason: Does not provide sufficient charge rate for EV in commercial buildings.
- b) CE2D-35-23(EV minimum power requirements) Proponent Quincy Davis. Introduction by Michael Jouaneh chair of the Electrical power, lighting, and renewables subcommittee. Motion to disapprove. Motion to disapprove passes 27-2-1. Reason: Based on action on CE2D-37-23 as this comment supports that proposal.
- c) CE2D-36-23(EV system and circuit capacity) Proponent Eric Tate. Introduction by Michael Jouaneh chair of the Electrical power, lighting, and renewables subcommittee. Motion to disapprove. Motion to disapprove passes 29-0-1. Reason: Deleting the minimum system and circuit capacity would not ensure sufficient electrical infrastructure is installed to supply the required EV parking spaces.
- d) CE2D-38-23(ESS-ready min system capacity) Proponent Steven Rosenstock. Introduction by Michael Jouaneh chair of the Electrical power, lighting, and renewables subcommittee. Motion to approve. Motion to approve passes 30-0. Reason: Editorial correction of the equation.
- e) CE2D-39-23(Occupant sensor controls) Proponent Aaron McEwin. Introduction by Michael Jouaneh chair of the Electrical power, lighting, and renewables subcommittee. Motion to disapprove. Motion to disapprove passes 29-1. Reason: Corridors are exit access components, so there is no conflict with the exception for exit passageways in the IECC. The committee also sees no conflict with the life safety requirements in the IBC. There is significant energy savings associated with keeping the requirement for OS in corridors.
- f) CE2D-40-23(Sleeping/dwelling units hotels, motels edit) Proponent Greg Johnson. Introduction by Michael Jouaneh chair of the Electrical power, lighting, and renewables subcommittee. Motion to approve. Motion to approve passes 31-0. Reason: These are editorial changes that help to clarify the language.
- g) CE2D-41-23(Sleeping units in congregate living) Proponent Michael Jouaneh. Introduction by Michael Jouaneh chair of the Electrical power, lighting, and renewables subcommittee. Motion to approve as modified. Motion to approve as modified passes 32-0. Reason: Replaces a vague term and defined term with an enforceable marking requirement.
- h) CEC2D-2-23(Modify building/additions not served by heat pumps) Proponent Steven Rosenstock. Introduction by Greg Eades chair of the Modeling subcommittee. Motion to disapprove. Motion to disapprove passes 23-4. Reason: The exceptions are currently written as intended, to exempt the stated portions of buildings rather than whole buildings.
- i) CE2D-50-23(Remove table limiting energy efficiency credit carryover) Proponent Eric Tate. Introduction by Greg Eades chair of the Modeling subcommittee. Motion to disapprove. Motion to disapprove passes 30-1-1. Reason: With extensive well-

documented benefits of energy efficiency, the amount of energy efficiency credits allowed to be traded off to renewable energy and load management credits is limited to the specific amounts determined through the committee's consensus view of the supporting analysis provided by PNNL.

- j) CE2D-73-23(Remove table CF102.1(2)) Proponent Eric Tate. Introduction by Greg Eades chair of the Modeling subcommittee. Motion to disapprove. Motion to disapprove passes 30-1-1. Reason: With extensive well-documented benefits of energy efficiency, the amount of energy efficiency credits allowed to be traded off to renewable energy and load management credits is limited to the specific amounts determined through the committee's consensus view of the supporting analysis provided by PNNL.
- k) CEC2D-4-23 PI(Flip means of appeal and stop work order) Proponent Consensus Committee. Motion by Greg Johnson to approve with a second from Bryan Holland. Motion to approve passes 29-1. Reason: Consistent with other I-Codes.

## 7. Subcommittee Reports-

- a) Electrical power, Lighting, and Renewables subcommittee will meet on Monday, August 21<sup>th</sup> for 90 minutes and August 25<sup>th</sup> from 11 am to 2 pm Eastern.
  - b) Modeling subcommittee will meet on Monday, August 21st.
  - c) HVACR subcommittees will meet on Thursday, August 17th
  - d) Admin & Envelope finished no further meetings at this time
- 8. Other Business-none at this time
- 9. Upcoming meetings. The next meeting is Wednesday, August, 23 at 2 pm Eastern.
- 10. Adjourn. The meeting was adjourned at approx. 2:30 pm Eastern time.

FOR FURTHER IECC Commercial INFORMATION BE SURE TO VISIT THE ICC WEBSITE: IECC Commercial Website

FOR ADDITIONAL INFORMATION, PLEASE CONTACT: Kristopher Stenger, AIA, CBO Director of Energy Programs International Code Council kstenger@iccsafe.org