

International Code Council IECC Commercial Consensus Committee Draft Meeting Minutes

Meeting Date: August 23, 2023

Committee Chair: Duane Jonlin Committee Vice Chair: Emily Hoffman

1. Call to order by Chair Duane Jonlin. The meeting was called to order at approx. 2:01 pm Eastern Time.

2. Roll Call. Chair Duane Jonlin, Vice-Chair Emily Hoffman, Ali Alaswadi, John Bade, Richard Burton, Payam Bozorgchami, Chris Clausing, Jay Crandell, Thomas Culp, Sean Denniston, Charles Eley, Drake Erbe, Anthony Floyd, David Goldstein, Stephen Harris, Gary Heikkinen (alt), Glenn Heinmiller (alt), Greg Johnson, Michael Jouaneh, Ann Livingston, Emily Lorenz, Michele Melley, Don Mock, Melissa Moseley, Susan Musngi, Dan Nall, Christopher Perry (alt), Laura Petrillo-Groh, Kevin Rose, Steve Rosenstock, Robert Ross, Blake Shelide, Michael Tillou, Amin Tohmaz, Michael Waite, James Yeoman,

Committee members in attendance: (36 in attendance 9 absent)

Not in attendance: Gina Bocra (alt), Paula Cino (alt), Amber Wood (alt), Shannon Corcoran, Jeremy Williams, Lauren Urbanek (alt), Mark Lyles (alt), Thomas Deary (alt), Scott Brooks, Matt Belcher, Zepherinus Church Norbert, John Dalzell, Vladimir Kochkin, Jack Bailey, Greg Eades, Bryan Holland, Andrew Klein, Vincent Martinez (alt), Hope Medina, Douglas Powell (alt), Michael Rosenberg (alt),

ICC Staff in attendance:

Kris Stenger, Jerica Stacey, Ed Wirtschoreck, Beth Tubbs

3. Approval of the Minutes from August 16-motion to approve by Richard Burton with a second from Don Mock. Approved unopposed.

4. Approval of Agenda- motion to approve by Anthony Floyd with a second from Greg Johnson. Approved unopposed.

- 5. Administrative items-none at this time.
- 6. Action Items
 - a) CE2D-3-23(Above-grade wall definition) Proponent Greg Johnson. Introduction by Bryan Holland chair of the Administration subcommittee. Motion to approve. Motion to approve fails 17-10-3. Motion to disapprove by Jay Crandell with a second from Michael Tillou.

Motion to disapprove fails 12-14-4. No further motions given by committee therefore the proposal fails. Reason: The committee did not find consensus to remove the mechanical penetration language from the definition that had previously been approved by 2/3 of the committee.

- b) CE2D-46-23(Demand responsive lighting control) Proponent Glenn Heinmiller. Introduction by Michael Jouaneh, chair of the Electrical power, lighting, and renewables subcommittee. Motion to disapprove. Motion to disapprove passes 26-2-2. Reason: Current language is clear enough without the modifications.
- c) CE2D-47-23(Total connected interior lighting power edit) Proponent Greg Johnson. Introduction by Michael Jouaneh, chair of the Electrical power, lighting, and renewables subcommittee. Motion to approve. Motion to approve passes 31-0. Reason: Provides clearer language for applying the exception of lighting power.
- d) CE2D-48-23(Lighting power for sleeping unit) Proponent Michael Jouaneh. Introduction by Michael Jouaneh, chair of the Electrical power, lighting, and renewables subcommittee. Motion to approve. Motion to approve passes 25-3-2. Reason: Adds "capability of operating" before the efficacy requirements. Addresses color tuning / changing light sources.
- e) CE2D-4-23(Emittance comment) Proponent Daniel Carroll. Introduction by Tom Culp, chair of the Envelope subcommittee. Motion to approve as modified. Motion to approve as modified passes 28-0-2. Reason: Clarifies definition and correlates with proposal passed at IECC-R.
- f) CE2D-7-23(Footnote I removed) Proponent Greg Johnson. Introduction by Tom Culp, chair of the Envelope subcommittee. Motion to approve as modified. Motion to approve as modified passes 29-0. Reason: Clarifies application of insulation to any wall framing configuration.
- g) CE2D-8-23(Tapered roof insulation edit) Proponent Greg Johnson. Introduction by Tom Culp, chair of the Envelope subcommittee. Motion to approve. Motion to approve passes 29-0. Reason: Removes redundancy; "minimum" is redundant with "not less than."
- h) CE2D-9-23(Air leakage numbering) Proponent Theresa Weston. Introduction by Tom Culp, chair of the Envelope subcommittee. Motion to approve. Motion to approve passes 30-0. Reason: Corrects section numbering.
- i) CE2D-76-23(ASTM reference) Proponent Theresa Weston. Introduction by Tom Culp, chair of the Envelope subcommittee. Motion to approve. Motion to approve passes 30-0. Reason: Corrects reference year on standards.
- j) CE2D-78-23 PI(NEMA OS 4) Committee Proposal. Introduction by Tom Culp, Motion to approve by Tom Culp chair of the Envelope subcommittee. Motion to approve passes 30-0. Reason: Provides the needed reference standard.

- k) CE2D-95-23 PI(Building thermal envelope) Proponent Aaron Phillips. Introduction by Tom Culp, chair of the Envelope subcommittee. Motion to approve. Motion to approve passes 31-0. Reason: Changes building envelope to building thermal envelope to be consistent within the document.
- CE2D-24-23(Occupied standby controls) Proponent Michael Jouaneh. Introduction by John Bade, chair of the HVACR & water heating subcommittee. Motion to approve as modified. Motion to approve as modified passes 30-0. Reason: To provide clarity and align with the lighting control requirements.
- m) CE2D-5-23(High-capacity gas-fired water heater definition) Proponent Eric Tate. Introduction by John Bade, chair of the HVACR & water heating subcommittee. Motion to approve as modified. Motion to approve as modified passes 30-0-1. Reason: Provide clarification for definition.
- n) CE2D-27-23(High input service water-heating system) Proponent Eric Tate. Introduction by John Bade, chair of the HVACR & water heating subcommittee. Motion to disapprove. Motion to disapprove 28-1-2. Reason: consistency with previous SC action and other sections of the code.
- o) CE2D-28-23(Boilers footnote I edit) Proponent Richard Lord. Introduction by John Bade, chair of the HVACR & water heating subcommittee. Motion to disapprove. Motion to disapprove 28-0-2. Reason: Proposed footnote is not needed.
- 7. Subcommittee Reports-

a) Electrical power, Lighting, and Renewables subcommittee will meet on Friday, August 25th and if needed on Monday, August 28th

- b) Modeling subcommittee will meet on Monday, August 28.
- c) HVACR subcommittees will meet on Thursday, August 24
- d) Admin & Envelope finished no further meetings at this time
- 8. Other Business-none at this time
- 9. Upcoming meetings. The next meeting is Wednesday, August, 30 at 2 pm Eastern.
- 10. Adjourn. The meeting was adjourned at approx. 3:00 pm Eastern time.

FOR FURTHER IECC Commercial INFORMATION BE SURE TO VISIT THE ICC WEBSITE: IECC Commercial Website

FOR ADDITIONAL INFORMATION, PLEASE CONTACT:

Kristopher Stenger, AIA, CBO Director of Energy Programs International Code Council kstenger@iccsafe.org