

# International Code Council IECC Residential Consensus Committee Draft Meeting Minutes

Meeting Date: February 10, 2022

Committee Chair: JC Hudgison

Committee Vice Chair: Bridget Herring, Robin Yochum

1. Call to order. The meeting was called to order at approx. 1:01 pm CT.

2. Meeting Conduct. IECC Secretariat Kris Stenger introduced this item and made attendees aware of ICC Council Policy 7 Committees: Section 5.1.10 Representation of Interests and ICC Code of Ethics.

3. Roll Call.

Committee members in attendance: (47 in attendance 1 absent)

Chair JC Hudgison, Vice-Chair Bridget Herring, Vice-Chair Robin Yochum, Charles Allen, Jennifer Amann, Rob Austin, Amy Boyce, Patricia Chawla, Paul Demers, Stephen Dent, Ann Edminster, Ian Finlayson, Emma Gonzalez-Laders, Mark Lyles, Gary Heikkinen, John A. Hensley, John E. Hensley, Shane Hoeper, R L Johnson, Mary Koban, Vladimir Kochkin, Alison Lindburg, Gavin Mabe, Ricardo Madrid, Thomas Marston, Amy Martino, Paul Messplay (alt), Jim Meyers, Thomas Paine (alt), Robert Parks, Chris Perry (alt), Richard Potts, William Pousson Jr., Ben Rabe, Mark Rodriguez, Gil Rossmiller, Robert Salcido, Amy Schmidt, Brian Shanks, Michael Tillou (alt), Richard Truitt, Gayathri Vijayakumar, Seth Wiley, Clifford Davis, Pamela Fasse, Kevin Gobble, Robert Raymer, Michael Stone, Lauren Urbanek, Helen Walter-Terrinoni (alt)

Not in attendance: Molly Berg (alt), Diana Burk (alt), David Goldstein (alt), Jeff Inks(alt), Nehemiah Stone (alt), Jeremy Williams, Jeremy Wright

### ICC Staff in attendance:

Kris Stenger, Mike Pfeiffer, Ed Wirtschorek, Ryan Colker, Jerica Stacey, Jason Toves, Shawn Martin

- 4. Approval of the Agenda-motion by Gayathri Vijayakumar to approve as modified by flipping REPI-120-21 and REPI-119-21 in the agenda. Approved unanimously.
- 5. Approval of the Minutes- motion to approve as modified for staff change to motion on proposal REPI-9-21 by Ric Johson. Second by Bridgett Herring. Approved unanimously

Copyright © 2021 International Code Council, Inc.

## 6. Administrative issues.

- a) Michael Nobel added to the Consensus Committee replacing Ben Rabe. Motion by Bridgett Herring to add Ben Rabe as an interested party voting member of the Envelope Subcommittee and add Michael Nobel to the Economics, Modeling, and Metrics Subcommittee. Second by Robin Yochum. Approved 30-6.
- b) Greg Johnson offered proponents to bring code changes to his SEHPCAC Working Group Committee to work on code language prior to be heard by subcommittees.
- c) Question if Chairs may make motions in committee meetings. Mr. Pfeiffer stated that the consensus procedures do not preclude a chair from making a motion.
- d) Chairs of subcommittee will be making initial motions of code change proposals that follow the recommendation of their subcommittee.

## 7. Action Items

- a. REPI-120-21. Proponent Robby Schwarz. Motion by Ian Finlayson chair of Econ, Modeling, Metrics which had recommended approved as modified. Additional modification to remove striking R403.3.6 from exception in Table R406.2 by Vladimir Kochkin accepted with motion. Second by Gayathri Vijayakumar. Motion to call a vote by Robert Parks. Second by Shane Hoeper. Motion to call vote passes 38-5. Motion to approve as modified approved 23-18-2.
- b. REPI-119-21. Proponent Jay Crandell. Motion by Ian Finlayson chair of Econ, Modeling, Metrics which had recommended disapproval. Reason: based on action taken on REPI-120. Second by Ric Johnson. Motion to disapprove passes 43-0.
- c. REPI-55-21. Proponent Vladimir Kochkin. Motion by Emma Gonzalez-Laders, chair of Envelope and Embodied Energy Subcommittee which had recommended approved as modified. Second by Gayathri Vijayakumar. Motion to approve as modified passes 43-1.
- d. REPI-48-21. Proponent Robby Schwarz. Motion by Emma Gonzalez-Laders, chair of Envelope and Embodied Energy Subcommittee which had recommended disapproval. Reason: causes confusion for manufacturers and increases cost. Second Bridget Herring. Motion to disapprove passes 40-2-2.
- e. REPI-49-21. Proponent Robby Schwarz. Motion by Emma Gonzalez-Laders, chair of Envelope and Embodied Energy Subcommittee which had recommended disapproval. Reason: causes confusion for manufacturers and increases cost. Second Bridget Herring. Motion to disapprove passes 40-2-2.
- f. CEPI-218-Part II. Proponent Sean Denniston. Motion by Gil Rossmiller, chair of Existing Buildings subcommittee which had recommend disapproval. Reason: Already addressed in the fuel gas code and does not add value to energy code. Second by Edwin Hensley. Motion to disapprove passes 40-0.
- g. REPI-145-21. Proponent Sean Denniston. Motion by Gil Rossmiller, chair of Existing Buildings subcommittee to return proposal back to subcommittee to be heard on March 22<sup>nd</sup>. Second by Edwin Hensley. Motion to return to subcommittee passes 43-1.
- h. REPI-151-21. Proponent Sean Denniston. Motion by Gil Rossmiller, chair of Existing Buildings subcommittee to approve proposal. Second by Edwin Hensley. Motion to approve proposal passes 34-8.
- i. REPI-152-21. Proponent Sean Denniston. Motion by Gil Rossmiller, chair of Existing Buildings subcommittee to approve proposal as modified. Change title of

- Section to Thermostat also added reference to R403.2. Second by Edwin Hensley. Motion to approve as modified passes 41-0.
- j. CEPI-13-21 Part II. Proponent Robert DeVries. Motion by Rich Truitt, vice chair of Consistency and Admin subcommittee which had recommended disapproval. Reason: proposal causes confusion. Second by Gayathri Vijayakumar. Motion to disapprove passes 41-0-1

# 8. Subcommittee Reports

- a) Consistency and Administration-Richard Potts-should complete hearing assigned code changes at next meeting
- b) Economics, Modeling, Whole-Building Metrics-Ian Finlayson-unable to discuss cost effectiveness at last meeting due to number of proposals. Will be discussing at next meeting.
- c) Electrical Power, Lighting, Renewables and Storage`- Mike Stone-will begin discussing glide path options. Also have 13 plus proposals on next agenda
- d) Envelope and Embodied Energy-Emma Gonzalez-Laders-Working group formed on air barrier/leakage led by Gayathri Vijayakumar.
- e) Existing Buildings-Gil Rossmiller-made recommendations on multiple code changes during previous meeting.
- f) HVACR and Water Heating-John E. Hensley-Have had productive discussion and will be moving proposals forward for recommendation. Duct proposals moved to working group led by David Bixby
- 9. Other Business-Discussion on options for proposal modifications after recommendation from subcommittee.
- 10. Upcoming meetings. The next meeting with be Thursday, February 24 at 1 pm Central time
- 11. Adjourn. at 3:10 pm.

FOR FURTHER IECC Residential INFORMATION BE SURE TO VISIT THE ICC WEBSITE: <a href="IECC Residential Website">IECC Residential Website</a>

FOR ADDITIONAL INFORMATION, PLEASE CONTACT:

Kristopher Stenger, AIA, CBO Director of Energy Programs International Code Council kstenger@iccsafe.org