

International Code Council IECC Residential Consensus Committee Draft Meeting Minutes

Meeting Date: June 23, 2022

Committee Chair: JC Hudgison

Committee Vice Chair: Bridget Herring, Robin Yochum

1. Call to order. The meeting was called to order by chair JC Hudgison at approx. 1:02 pm CT.

2. Meeting Conduct. IECC Secretariat Kris Stenger introduced this item and made attendees aware of ICC <u>Council Policy 7</u> Committees: Section 5.1.10 Representation of Interests, <u>Council Policy 50</u> antitrust, and ICC <u>Code of Ethics</u>.

3. Roll Call.

Committee members in attendance: (44 in attendance 4 absent)

Chair JC Hudgison, Vice-Chair Robin Yochum, Charles Allen, Jennifer Amann, Rob Austin, Amy Boyce, Patricia Chawla, Shannon Corcoran (alt), Clifford Davis, Paul Demers, Stephen Dent, Craig Drumheller, Ann Edminster, Pamela Fasse, Kevin Gobble, Emma Gonzalez-Laders, John A. Hensley, John E. Hensley, Shane Hoeper, R L Johnson, Cherlyn Kelley, Mary Koban, Vladimir Kochkin, Alison Lindburg, Mark Lyles, Gavin Mabe, Ricardo Madrid, Thomas Marston, Amy Martino, Paul Messplay (alt), Jim Meyers, Robert Parks, Chris Perry (alt), Richard Potts, William Pousson Jr., Robert Raymer, Gil Rossmiller, Robert Salcido, Amy Schmidt, Brian Shanks, Michael Stone, Michael Tillou (alt), Richard Truitt, Lauren Urbanek, Gayathri Vijayakumar, Seth Wiley, Jeremy Williams, Jeremy Wright

Not in attendance:, Vice-Chair Bridget Herring, Diana Burk (alt), Ian Finlayson, David Goldstein (alt), Gary Heikkinen, Cesar Lujan (alt), Michael Noble, Thomas Paine (alt), Mark Rodriguez, Molly Berg (alt), Nehemiah Stone (alt), Helen Walter-Terrinoni (alt),

ICC Staff in attendance:

Kris Stenger, Mike Pfeiffer, Ed Wirtschoreck, Dave Walls

- 4. Approval of the Agenda-Motion by John Hensley to approve agenda with modification to hear RECPI-10-21 after REPI-138-21. Second by Mary Koban. Motion passes unanimously.
- 5. Approval of the Minutes-Motion to approve the June 16 minutes by Ric Johnson, second by Paul Demers. Motion passes unanimously.

6. Administrative issues. Mike Pfeiffer led a presentation on the for balloting the public input items to develop the Public Comment Draft #1. The presentation is posted on the committee website. Also included in the presentation is a description of the continuous maintenance process once the 2024 IECC is published.

7. Action Items

- a. REPI-113-21 (Grid integration inverters) proponent Kim Cheslak. Introduction by Mike Stone, chair of Electrical power, lighting, renewables, and storage subcommittee. Motion by the subcommittee to disapprove. Second by Robin Yochum. Reason: this is not necessary and would add cost and complexity to projects. Motion to disapprove passes 28-10-2.
- b. REPI-154-21 (Zero Energy) proponent Steve Rosenstock. Introduction by Mike Stone, chair of Electrical power, lighting, renewables, and storage subcommittee. Motion by the subcommittee to approve. Second by Robin Yochum Reason: This adds the word "net" to the term "zero energy". Zero Net Energy (ZNE) is the term most commonly used and is more accurate. All building use energy there are no "zero energy" buildings. Motion to approve passes 33-0.
- c. REPI-157-21 (Net Zero ASHRAE 90.2) proponent Emily Toto. Introduction by Mike Stone, chair of Electrical power, lighting, renewables, and storage subcommittee. Motion by the subcommittee to approve as modified. Second by Robin Yochum. Reason: adds a reference to ASHRAE 90.2 to the appendix as an additional reference standard. Motion to approve as modified passes 30-9-1.
- d. REPI-160-21 (Zero Energy) proponent Steve Rosenstock. Introduction by Mike Stone, chair of Electrical power, lighting, renewables, and storage subcommittee. Motion by the subcommittee to approve. Second by Robin Yochum. Reason: This proposal adds the more inclusive term "renewable energy resources" instead of spelling out various types of renewable energy. It would also change the terms of an energy purchase contract or lease from not less than 15 years to not less than 10 years. Motion to approve passes 22-17.
- e. REPI-164-21 (Zero Energy) proponent Steve Rosenstock. Introduction by Mike Stone, chair of Electrical power, lighting, renewables, and storage subcommittee. Motion by the subcommittee to disapprove. Second by Robin Yochum. Reason: This proposal would add flexibility to use other green building standards for reaching zero net energy. This could open the door to using non-equivalent standards, and the decision to use an alternate standard should not be left up to the AHJ. Motion to disapprove passes 33-6-1.
- f. REPI-138-21 (Committee Proposal for water heater efficiency). Proponent Patricia Chawla. Introduced by John Hensley, chair of the HVACR & WH subcommittee. Motion to disapprove. Second by Mary Koban. Reason: disapprove in favor of committee proposal RECPI-10-21. Motion to disapprove 26-10-1.
- g. RECPI-10-21 (Committee Proposal for water heater efficiency). Proponent HVACR subcommittee. Introduced by John Hensley, chair of the HVACR & WH subcommittee. Motion to approve. Second by Mary Koban. Reason: provides better clarity of efficiency requirements based on equipment type and draw pattern. Motion to approve passes. 29-11-3.
- h. REPI-99-21 (Electric resistance zone heat unit). Proponent David Baylon Introduced by John Hensley, chair of the HVACR & WH subcommittee. Motion to approve as modified. Second by Rick Madrid. Reason: provides consensus

- language that follows what has been used successfully in Washington state. Motion to approve as modified passes 22-15-3.
- i. REPI-56-21 (Insulation installation) Proponent Mark Lyles. Introduced by Emma Gonzalez-Laders, chair of the Envelope and Embodied energy subcommittee. Motion to approve as modified. Second by Robin Yochum. Reason: this proposal will help increase the proper installation of insulation and therefore the performance of residential buildings. Motion to approve as modified fails 15-26-1. Motion by Amy Martino to disapprove with a second from Craig Drumheller. Reason: provides installation information that is sometime contradictory to manufacturers instructions and possibly difficult to enforce. Motion to disapprove passes 28-9.

8. Subcommittee reports

- a. Electrical Power, Lighting, Renewables, and Storage-Mike Stone, chair of the subcommittee. The subcommittee has a meeting remaining on 6/27 to go over remaining proposals. Some which have already been discussed by the subcommittee or working groups.
- 9. Other Business-none at this time
- 10. Upcoming meetings. The next meeting with be Thursday, June 30 at 11 am Central time
- 11. Adjourn. at 3:38 pm.

FOR FURTHER IECC Residential INFORMATION BE SURE TO VISIT THE ICC WEBSITE: IECC Residential Website

FOR ADDITIONAL INFORMATION, PLEASE CONTACT:

Kristopher Stenger, AIA, CBO Director of Energy Programs International Code Council kstenger@iccsafe.org