

International Code Council IECC Residential Consensus Committee Draft Meeting Minutes

Meeting Date: June 29, 2023

Committee Chair: JC Hudgison

Committee Vice Chair: Bridget Herring

- 1. Call to order. The meeting was called to order by Chair JC Hudgison at approx. 12:02 pm CT.
- 2. Meeting Conduct. IECC Secretariat Kris Stenger introduced this item and made attendees aware of ICC <u>Council Policy 7</u> Committees: Section 5.1.10 Representation of Interests, <u>Council Policy 50</u> antitrust, and ICC <u>Code of Ethics</u>.
- 3. Roll Call.

Committee members in attendance: (45 in attendance 2 absent)

Chair JC Hudgison, Charles Allen, Jennifer Amann, Amy Boyce, Chris Burgess (alt), Daniel Carroll (alt), Patricia Chawla, Shannon Corcoran (alt), Clifford Davis, Thomas Deary (alt), Paul Demers, Stephen Dent, Craig Drumheller, Ann Edminster, Ian Finlayson, Kevin Gobble, David Goldstein (alt), Emma Gonzalez-Laders, Gary Heikkinen, John A. Hensley, R L Johnson, Mark Lyles, Shane Hoeper, Cherlyn Kelley, Vladimir Kochkin, Lawrence Kotewa, Alison Lindburg, Ricardo Madrid, Thomas Marston, Amy Martino, Jim Meyers, Thomas Paine (alt), Robert Parks, Chris Perry (alt), Laura Petrillo-Groh (alt), Richard Potts, William Pousson Jr., Ben Rabe (alt), Robert Raymer, Mark Rodriguez, Gil Rossmiller, Robert Salcido, Amy Schmidt, Brian Shanks, Michael Stone, Michael Tillou (alt), Richard Truitt, Gayathri Vijayakumar, Seth Wiley, Jeremy Wright, Daren Zigich

Not in attendance: Molly Berg (alt), Pamela Fasse, Garret Jaynes (alt), Cesar Lujan (alt), Nehemiah Stone (alt), Paul Messplay (alt), Gavin Mabe, Jeremy Williams, John E. Hensley, Lauren Urbanek, Vice-Chair Bridget Herring, Rob Austin

ICC Staff in attendance:

Kris Stenger, Ed Wirtschoreck

- 4. Approval of the Agenda- Motion by Robert Raymer to approve the agenda as modified with a second from Paul Demers. Motion passes unanimously.
- 5. Approval of the Minutes- Motion to approve by Robert Raymer with a second from Jim Meyers. Motion passes unanimously.

Copyright © 2021 International Code Council, Inc.

6. Administrative issues. Staff noted Lawrence Kotewa as primary member, Daren Zigich as primary member, Chris Burgess as an alternate for Alison Lindburg, Thomas Deary as an alternate for Laura Petrillo-Groh.

Staff then gave overview of the remainder of the balloting process. Absentee ballots for those not voting during the meeting on an item will be due Friday, July 14th at 11:59 pm Pacific. Staff provided a projected schedule of meetings following the close of public comment on June 30th. Staff is looking for the completion of consensus meetings resolving comments by the first two weeks of September. Staff also pointed to the committee procedures for committee proposal development so that they fall within this timeline.

7. Action Items

a) RED1-76-22(Off-site renewables) Proponent Vladimir Kochkin. Motion to disapprove by Emma Gonzalez-Laders with a second from Alison Lindburg. Motion by Ian Finlayson to call the question with a second by Alison Lindburg. Motion to call the question fails 22-16. Motion to disapprove receives a vote of 21 yes and 19 no on the floor. The item will be placed on the absentee ballot. Should the ballot not receive the required majority of voting member in favor of disapproval an additional meeting will be necessary to resolve the item.

b)RECD1-13-22(Table R408.2 Additional Energy Efficiency Credits) Committee Proposal. Introduction by Rob Salcido, PNNL. Mr. Salcido provided slides providing description of the methodology of the analysis and point determination. Motion by Rob Salcido to approve points in the table as provided in the agenda with a second from Chris Perry. Motion by Gayathri Vijayakumar with a second from Robert Parks to modify the proposal by including the total points available for a credit removing the 10 point cap, remove the duplicate option 2 in R408.2.3(1)(a), and indicate "NA" where point totals are unavailable due to other measures. Staff will provide a copy of the spreadsheet that shows point totals for those indicated with an "NA" for comment purposes. Motion to approve the modification receives 35 yes and 2 no votes. The motion to approve as modified receives 33 yes and 3 no votes on the floor. Both votes will be placed on the absentee ballot

- 8. Subcommittee reports

 None at this time
- 9. Other Business-
- 10. Upcoming meetings. TBD
- 11. Adjourn. at 3:23 pm.

FOR FURTHER IECC Residential INFORMATION BE SURE TO VISIT THE ICC WEBSITE: IECC Residential Website

FOR ADDITIONAL INFORMATION, PLEASE CONTACT:

Kristopher Stenger, AIA, CBO Director of Energy Programs International Code Council kstenger@iccsafe.org

Copyright © 2021 International Code Council, Inc.