

NEWS RELEASE

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: November 7, 2024

Contact: Donna Campbell | (734) 660-6518

dcampbell@iccsafe.org | www.iccsafe.org

International Code Council Membership Elects Board Officers and Directors at the 2024 Annual Business Meeting

Members of the building safety association elected leaders to the organization's 2024-25 Board of Directors

Long Beach, CA – On October 21, 2024, members of the International Code Council elected the new officers and directors to its 2024-2025 Board of Directors during the Annual Business Meeting in Long Beach, California. The board is responsible for the Code Council's strategic direction while adhering to its stated mission of building safety.

The newly elected executive committee includes:

- President— <u>David Spencer</u>, CBO, CBCO. Spencer is the Director of Operations with Safebuilt, LLC, in Adams County, Washington. His team assists with plan reviews, inspections, customer service and technology needs. He is also a member of the Washington Association of Building Officials and the Region II Chapter of the Code Council.
- Vice President— <u>Mike Boso</u>. Boso serves as Chief Building and Zoning Official of Grove City. He is also a member of the Ohio Building Officials Association, the Central Ohio Building Officials Association, Region V of the Code Council and PermitTechNation.
- Secretary/Treasurer <u>Steve McDaniel</u>, CPCA. McDaniel is a Code Enforcement Officer
 with the City of Corning, New York. In addition to code enforcement, McDaniel serves as
 a building consultant, and for many years ran his own construction business. He has
 been an active member of several Code Council Chapters in New York State serving
 several roles and is Past President of the New York State Building Officials Conference.
- Immediate Past President <u>Stuart Tom</u>, P.E., CBO, FIAE will automatically assume the role of Immediate Past President. Tom is the Superintendent of Building and Fire for the City of Pasadena, California. He is a registered engineer in the states of Washington and California, holds a host of professional certifications, and is active in the development of fire and life safety codes and standards at the national and state level.

Additionally, newly elected and re-elected board members include:

- Section A Director (three-year term): Randy Metz (Section A includes Alaska, British Columbia, Washington, Oregon, California, Nevada and Hawaii)
- Section E Director (three-year term): <u>Benjamin Breadmore</u> (Section E includes Maine, Vermont, New Hampshire, New York, Massachusetts, Connecticut, Rhode Island, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Delaware, Maryland, West Virginia, Virginia, Washington, D.C., Quebec, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island and Newfoundland)
- Section F Director (two-year term): <u>JC Hudgison</u> (Section F includes Tennessee, Louisiana, Mississippi, Alabama, North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia, Florida and the Caribbean)
- Director At-Large (three-year term): Christina Jackson
- Director At-Large (three-year term): Jim Sayers
- Director At-Large (three-year term): <u>Sam Palmer</u>
- Director At-Large (two-year term): Sean Toomey

"The Code Council Board of Directors is made up of industry leaders dedicated to engaging members and providing communities with the highest level of support in building safety," said Dominic Sims, CBO, Chief Executive Officer of the Code Council. "We look forward to continuing to drive the mission of the Code Council forward and enhance our ability to serve communities through the knowledge, expertise and perspective these individuals bring."

###

About the International Code Council

The <u>International Code Council</u> is the leading global source of model codes and standards and building safety solutions. Code Council codes, standards and solutions are used to ensure safe, affordable and sustainable communities and buildings worldwide.