

# ICC (ASC A117) CONSENSUSCOMMITTEE ON ACCESSIBLE AND USABLE BUILDINGS AND FACILITIES

# A117.1 Committee Minutes #47 Thursday, January 4, 2024 12-4 Eastern

**Chair:** Ken Schoonover **Vice-chair:** Gina Hilberry

Secretariat: Karl Aittaniemi; kaittaniemi@iccsafe; 888-422-7233, Ext. 4205

Please send requests for accommodations to Karl at least 5 business days before the call.

#### **Committee members:**

Ken Schoonover, Chair, Individual Member

Doug Anderson, AHLA, Principal

Trent Behr, Alternate, NEII

Bezy Bentzen, AERBVI, Principal

Gene Boecker, NATO Alternate

Wayne Broadfield, Paralyzed Veterans of America (Alternate)

Dan Buuck, NAHB, Principal

Kevin Carr, NFPA, Principal

John Catlett, JD Catlett (Building and Fire Code) Consulting, LLC for BOMA, principal

Bill Conner ASTC alternate

David Cooper, SMA, Principal

Glenn Dea, International Sign Association, Principal

Kaylan Dunlap, Alternate, DREDF

Alan Gettelman, Individual Member

Jenifer Gilliland, WABO Principal

John S. Gonzalez –ICC (Alternate)

Greg Guarnaccia, Illuminating Engineering Society (Principal)

Dennis Hall, CSI, Principal

Sandy Hanebrink, AOTA, Principal

Glenn Hedman, RESNA, Alternate

Gina Hilberry, Vice-Chair, Principal UCP

Robert Kelly Montgomery County Principal

Matt Lescher, Principal, NATO

Carolyn Majowka, VBCOA, Alternate

Debra Martins, US Access Board (Alternate)

Marsha Mazz, Principal, United Spinal Association

Jeffrey Munsterteiger, NAHB, Alternate

Daniel O'Gorman, Principal, ASPE

Kimberly Paarlberg, ICC, Principal

Rex Pace, HUD, Principal

Barbara Padilla – AHLA Alternate

Jake Pauls, Individual member

Lucy Pereira, International Sign Association, Alternate

Kenny Peskin, Int'l Sign Association, Alternate

Hope Reed, NMGCD Alternate

Richard Roberts, Honeywell representing NEMA

Kurt Roeper - Builders Hardware Manufacturers Association- Alternate

Ed Roether, Individual Member

Stan Ross-NM GCD Principal

Jessica Schrader, SEGD, Principal

Leslie Shankman-Cohn, ASID, Principal

Kyle Thompson, PMI, Principal

Richard Williams, WABO Alternate

R Duane Wilson, ASTC, Principal

Shannon Chasteen, AEMA, Principal

Angeline Aradanas-Hall, RA, Hall Architects

Nathan Roether, United Spinal, Alternate

Koni Sims, ACB, alternate

Pat Sheehan, ACB, Principal

Scott Windley, US Access Board, Principal

Mary Winkler, ASSP Alternate, (American Society of Safety Professionals)

### **Interested parties:**

Charles V Barlow, EverGlow NA, Inc.

Maggie Calkins, SAGE and IDEAS Institute

Gregory Ceton, Pool and Hot Tub Alliance

Thomas Hirsch, FAIA HIRSCH GROUP ARCHITECTURE

Hoyt D Jeter, PE, City of Tacoma principal engineer

Tami Kump, AIA – Knothe Bruce Architects

Ben Perreault, Bradley Corp

Laurel W. Wright, NCOSFM Ret.

Jeff Yanke, Evan Terry Associates

#### **B.** Logistics

- 1) Minutes for 11-9-2023, 12-7-2023, 12-21-2023; Agenda for 01-04-2024 were approved
- 2) Work groups –
- Reach over a counter 3rd presentation April 27, 2023; meetings TBD
- 06-13 meetings TBD
- Adult changing meeting TBD
- Assisted toileting and bathing March 24, 2022 presentation meeting TBD
- Scoping April 7, 2022 presentation meetings TBD
- Accessible bathing April 21, 2022 presentation meeting TBD
- Accessible Communication Features for the Built Environment meeting every other Wednesday, 1-3 Eastern; Eunice Noell-Waggoner to be co-chair of task group

- Walking and Wheeled Surfaces meetings TBD
- Membership committee letter for non-participation in development.
- Terminology/Editorial task group approved by consensus vote. Marsha Mazz to chair. Meeting Sept. 7, 21, Oct. 5, 19, Nov. 2, 16, 30, Dec. 14, 2023; Jan. 11, 25, Feb. 8, 22, March 7, 21, April 4, 18, May 2, 16, 30 and June 13, 27, 2024

## C. Administrative items

- The revised proposals are available at A117.1 Public proposals 2-8-2022
- Information on the meetings and development of the 2023 edition of the standard will be posted at A117.1 webpage
- Ballots for proposals heard through July 28, 2022 were sent to the committee. Deadline for the ballot was **Sept. 6, 2022.**
- Ballots for proposals heard through January 19, 2023 were sent to the committee. Deadline for the ballot was **March 6, 2023.**
- Ballots for proposals heard through May 11, 2023 and public comment agenda were sent to the committee. Deadline for the ballot was **July 31, 2023.**
- Ballots for 2017 A117.1 supplement for 06-90-2021 are due Nov. 13, 2023.
- Meeting dates for the 2024 are: Jan. 4, 18, Feb. 1, 15, 29, March 14, 28, April 11, 25, May 9, 23 and June 6, 20, 2024

# **D.** ICC A117.1 development procedures – NA

# E. Review of Proposals:

```
Chapter 5
       05-12 – Final action is D
           PC1 Replacement – AS 2-29-4
           PC2 no action
       05-13 - hold till 1-18-2024 meeting
       05-14 – Final action is D
           BC1 – AS 11-20-3 fail
       05-16 – new standard – hold till end of agenda or when standard is
       available.
       05-18 – Final action is D
           PC1
           Part 1 change from 18" to 24" – AS 13-14-3
           Part 2 – deletion of last sentence – AS 24-10-1
           BC1 - D 18-8-2
       05-21- hold till 1-18-2024 meeting
       05-24 – final action is AS
           BC2 AS 3-28-4
           D 13-17-3
```

**F. New business:** Reminder the new A118 standard for acoustics. Call for committees is at https://www.iccsafe.org/membership/councils-committees/call-for-councils-and-committees/.

## **G.** Future meetings:

- 1. Calls will be every other Thursday, from Noon to 4:00 pm Eastern.
  - The meeting dates for 2022 are: March 10, 24; April 7, 21; May 5, 19; June 2, 16, 30; July 14, 28; August 11, 25; Sept. 8, 22; Oct. 6, 20; Nov. 3, 17; Dec. 1, 15, 2022.
  - Meeting dates for 2023 are:
    Jan. 5 and 19, Feb. 2 and 16, March 2, 16 and 30, April 13 and 27, May 11 and 25, June 8 and 22, July 13, 27, August 10, 24, Sept. 14, 28, Oct. 12, 26, Nov. 9 (not the 23<sup>rd</sup> since this is Thanksgiving), Dec. 7 and 21, 2023
  - Meeting dates for the 2024 are:
     Jan. 4, 18, Feb. 1, 15, 29, March 14, 28, April 11, 25, May 9, 23 and June 6, 20, 2024.
- 2. Information on the meetings and development of the 2023 edition of the standard will be posted at <a href="ICC A117.1 webpage">ICC A117.1 webpage</a>
- 3. Any questions contact Karl Aittaniemi; kaittaniemi@iccsafe; 888-422-7233, Ext. 4205
- **H. Adjourn** Meeting was adjourned at 3:50.