

ICC (ASC A117) CONSENSUS COMMITTEE ON ACCESSIBLE AND USABLE BUILDINGS AND FACILITIES

A117.1 Committee Minutes #29 Thursday, March 30, 2023 12-4 Eastern

Chair: Ken Schoonover **Vice-chair:** Gina Hilberry

Secretariat: Karl Aittaniemi; kaittaniemi@iccsafe; 888-422-7233, Ext. 4205

Please send requests for accommodations to Karl at least 5 business days before the call.

1) Welcome and Introductions

1) Call to order – the meeting was called to order at 12:00 Eastern

2) Meeting attendance:

Committee members

Ken Schoonover, Chair, Individual Member

Tara Barthelmess, NCDOI & OSFM, Principal

Billie L Bentzen, AERBVI, Principal

Gene Boecker. NATO alternate

Karen Braitmayer, DREDF, Principal

Kevin Brinkman, NEII, Principal

Wayne Broadfield, Paralyzed Veterans of America- Alternate

Dan Buuck, NAHB, Principal

Kevin Carr, NFPA, Principal

John Catlett, BOMA International, Principal

Bill Conner ASTC alternate

David Cooper, SMA, Principal

Daniel Dain, AIA, Principal

Glenn Dea, International Sign Association (Principal)

Alan Gettelman, Individual Member

Jenifer Gilliland, WABO, Principal

John S. Gonzalez – ICC (Alternate)

Greg Guarnaccia, Illuminating Engineering Society (Principal)

Dennis Hall, CSI, Principal

Glenn Hedman, RESNA, Alternate

Gina Hilberry, UCP Principal Member, Vice-Chair

Robert Kelly Montgomery County Principal

Matt Lescher, NATO, Principal

Marsha Mazz, United Spinal Association, Principal

Sean McNamara, Target Corp, Alternate

Susan Morgan, ASID alternate

Jeffrey Munsterteiger, NAHB, Alternate

Eunice Noell-Waggoner, IES, Alternate

Dan O'Gorman, ASPE, Principal

Kimberly Paarlberg, ICC, principal

Rex Pace, HUD, Principal

Jake Pauls, Individual Member

Kenny Peskin, Intl Sign Association, Alternate

Hope Reed, NMGCD Alternate

Richard Roberts, NEMA, Principal

Kurt Roeper – Builders Hardware Manufacturers Association, alternate

Ed Roether, Individual Member

Nathan Roether, United Spinal Association, Alternate

Stan Ross, Director NM Governor's Commission on Disability Principal

Josh Schorr, US Access Board, alternate

Jessica Schrader, SEGD, Principal

Pat Sheehan, ACB, Principal

Koni Sims, ACB, Alternate

Kyle Thompson, PMI, Principal

Sharon Toji HLAA Principal

Richard Williams, WABO, Alternate

R Duane Wilson, ASTC, Principal

Scott Windley, US Access Board, Principal

Mary Winkler, American Society of Safety Professionals (ASSP), Alternate

Interested parties:

Shahriar Amiri, VBCOA

Mike Anthony, University of Michigan

Charles V Barlow, EverGlow NA, Inc.

Amy Carpenter, SFCS Architects

Cara Godwin, Ankrom Moisan Architects

Karen Gridley, MN Dept Labor & Industry, Construction Codes Division

Ramesh Gulatee, Architect, LifeCare Design Studio, LLC

Thomas Hirsch, FAIA HIRSCH GROYUP ARCHITECTURE

Tami Kump, AIA, Knothe Bruce Architects

Barbara Padilla, AIA, Accessibility Specialist, LCM Architects

Larry Perry, Lawrence G. Perry, AIA, self

Michael Rupert, Compliance Specialist, Penn State University

Norman Wang, RA Director of Building Codes Administration, Maryland Dept of Labor

Thomas Zuzik Jr – Railingcodes.com, representing NOMMA.org

B. Logistics

- 1) Minutes for 3-16-2023 were approved; revised agenda for 3-30-2023
- 2) Work groups –
- Reach over a counter 2nd presentation March 26, 2023; meetings March 31, 2023
- 06-13 meetings TBD
- Adult changing 2nd presentation May 19, 2022 meetings TBD

- Assisted toileting and bathing March 24, 2022 presentation meeting TBD
- Scoping April 7, 2022 presentation meetings TBD
- Accessible bathing April 21. 2022 presentation meeting TBD
- Accessible Communication Features for the Built Environment meeting every other Wednesday, 1-3 Eastern
- Walking and Wheeled Surfaces meeting TBD
- Terminology meeting March 31, 2023
- Membership committee report.
 - The committee approved the membership for two new regulatory members –
 Virginia Building Officials (Shahiar Amiri) 25-2-4 and the State of Maryland,
 Dept. of Labor (Norman Wang) 30-2-2
 - o Review of committee participation; send letters to members who have not responded to ballots or attended less than 50% of the meetings.

C. Administrative items

- The revised proposals are available at A117.1 Public proposals 2-8-2022
- Information on the meetings and development of the 2023 edition of the standard will be posted at <u>A117.1 webpage</u>
- Ballots for proposals heard through July 28, 2022 were sent to the committee. Deadline for the ballot was **Sept. 6, 2022.**
- Ballots for proposals heard through January 19, 2023 were sent to the committee. Deadline for the ballot was **March 6, 2023.**

D. ICC A117.1 development procedures –

E) Review of Proposals:

The following proposals were decided during the call. See the report for official committee reasons and final actions. Any items remaining on the agenda will roll to the next agenda -

Chapter 11

```
11-10 - hold
```

11-11 – Bathing task group – AS 23-0-4

11-12 – Bathing task group – D 26-1-3

11-13 – Bathing task group - hold

11-14 – AS during 4-21-2022 meeting

11-15 - AS 27-6-1

11-16 - hold

11-17 - hold

11-18 - hold

11-19 – AS 19-9-4

11-20 - Withdrawn

11-21 – AM 24-2-4

11-22 - AM 29-1-4

11-23 – AS 26-4-1

11-24 – AS 32-0-2 11-25 – Part 1-1104.11.3.1 AS 8-20-2; D 28-2-3 Part 2 – 1104.11.3.1.3.3 AS 27-3-1 11-26 – D 28-0-1 11-27 – AS 26-2-4 11-28 – modification 20-7-6; AM 24-4-2 11-29 – D during 12-15-2022 meeting

F) New business:

G) Future meetings:

1) Calls will be every other Thursday, from Noon to 4:00 pm Eastern.

The meeting dates for 2022 are:

March 10, 24; April 7, 21; May 5, 19; June 2, 16, 30; July 14, 28; August 11, 25; Sept. 8, 22; Oct. 6, 20; Nov. 3, 17; Dec. 1, 15, 2022.

Meeting dates for 2023 are:

Jan. 5 and 19, Feb. 2 and 16, March 2, 16 and 30, April 13 and 27, May 11 and 25, June 8 and 22.

- 2) Information on the meetings and development of the 2023 edition of the standard will be posted at ICC A117.1 webpage
- 3) Any questions contact Karl Aittaniemi; kaittaniemi@iccsafe; 888-422-7233, Ext. 4205
- **H)** Adjourn Meeting was adjourned at 4:00.