

ICC (ASC A117) CONSENSUS COMMITTEE ON ACCESSIBLE AND USABLE BUILDINGS AND FACILITIES

A117.1 Committee Minutes #58 Thursday, June 6, 2024 12-4 Eastern

Chair: Ken Schoonover **Vice-chair:** Gina Hilberry

Secretariat: Karl Aittaniemi; kaittaniemi@iccsafe; 888-422-7233, Ext. 4205

Please send requests for accommodations to Karl at least 5 business days before the call.

Committee members:

Doug Anderson, AHLA Principal

Angeline Aradanas-Hall, ASID, Alternate

Jessica Archer, TGT, Alternate

Tara Barthelmess, NC OSFM, Principal

Billie (Beezy) Bentzen, AERBVI, Principal

Trent Behr, National Elevator Industry Inc. (NEII), Alternate

Gene Boecker, NATO Alternate

Wayne Broadfield, Paralyzed Veterans of America (Alternate)

Dan Buuck, NAHB Principal

Kevin Carr, NFPA, Principal

Gregory Ceton, PHTA, Principal

Shannon Chasteen, AEMA, Principal

Bill Conner ASTC alternate

David Cooper, SMA, Principal

Daniel Dain, AIA, Principal

Glenn Dea, International Sign Association, Principal

Tony Gambrall, BHMA, Alternate

Brad Gaskins, NACS, Principal

Alan Gettelman, Individual Member

Jenifer Gilliland, WABO, Principal

John S. Gonzalez, ICC (Alternate)

Kim Goss, Accessibility Professionals Association (APA), Alternate

Greg Guarnaccia, Illuminating Engineering Society (Principal)

Cody Gunn, TGT, Alternate

Dennis Hall, CSI, Principal

Glenn Hedman, RESNA, Alternate

Gina Hilberry, UCP Principal, Vice-Chair (chaired this meeting)

Robert Kelly Montgomery county principal

Matt Lescher, NATO, Principal

George Lim SEGD, Alternate

Debra Martins, U.S. Access Board, Alternate

Marsha Mazz, United Spinal Association, Principal

Jeffrey Munsterteiger, NAHB, Alternate

Eunice Noell-Waggoner, IES Alternate, voting today for Greg Guarnaccia

Kimberly Paarlberg, ICC, Principal

Barbara Padilla, AHLA (Alternate)

Jake Pauls, Individual Member

Lucy Pereira, International Sign Association, Alternate

Kenny Peskin, Int'l Sign Association, Alternate

Hope Reed, New Mexico GCD Alternate

Kurt Roeper – Builders Hardware Manufacturers Association – Principal

Ed Roether, Individual Member

Pam Schooler, PE NC OSFM, Alternate

Jessica Schrader, SEGD, Principal

Leslie Shankman-Cohn, ASID Principal

Pat Sheehan, ACB, Principal

Koni Sims, ACB, Alternate

Sharon Toji, HLAA Principal

John Torkelson, Accessibility Professionals Association (APA), Principal

Dorothy Allyson Watts, HLAA Alternate

Scott Windley, Department of Housing and Urban Development, Alternate

Mary Winkler, ASSP, Alternate

Interested parties:

Charles V Barlow, EverGlow

Lilly Blase, Nebraska ATP

Maggie Calkins, IDEAS Institute and SAGE

Alicia Chavez, Ca Division of the State Architect HQ

Ronald Crouch, AIA - Moseley Architects

Hoyt D Jeter, City of Tacoma

Tami Kump, AIA – Knothe Bruce Architects

Eugene Lozano, Jr., Chair, Committee on Access and Transportation, California

Council of the Blind

Ben Perreault, Bradley Company

Stan Ross, GCD Principal

Laurel W, Wright, NCOSFM, Ret.

Jeff Yanke, Evan Terry Associates

B. Logistics

- 1) Minutes for 5-23-2024; Agenda for 6-6-2024 were approved
- 2) Work groups –
- Reach over a counter 3rd presentation April 27, 2023; meetings TBD
- 06-13 meetings TBD
- Adult changing April 25, 2024 presentation -meeting TBD
- Assisted toileting and bathing meeting TBD
- Scoping April 7, 2022 presentation meetings TBD
- Accessible bathing April 21, 2022 presentation meeting TBD
- Accessible Communication Features for the Built Environment meeting TBD

- Walking and Wheeled Surfaces meetings TBD
- Membership committee –
- Terminology/Editorial task group approved by consensus vote. Marsha Mazz to chair. Meeting Sept. 7, 21, Oct. 5, 19, Nov. 2, 16, 30, Dec. 14, 2023; Jan. 11, 25, Feb. 8, 22, March 7, 21, April 4, 18, May 2, 16, 30 and June 13, 27, 2024 people who would like to volunteer contact Kim and Marsha.

C. Administrative items

- The revised proposals are available at <u>A117.1 Public proposals 2-8-2022</u>
- Information on the meetings and development of the 2023 edition of the standard will be posted at A117.1 webpage
- Ballots for proposals heard through July 28, 2022 were sent to the committee. Deadline for the ballot was **Sept. 6, 2022.**
- Ballots for proposals heard through January 19, 2023 were sent to the committee. Deadline for the ballot was **March 6, 2023.**
- Ballots for proposals heard through May 11, 2023 and public comment agenda were sent to the committee. Deadline for the ballot was **July 31, 2023.**
- Ballots for 2017 A117.1 supplement for 06-90-2021 were due **Nov. 13, 2023.**
- Meeting dates for the 2024 are: Jan. 4, 18, Feb. 1, 15, 29, March 14, 28, April 11, 25, May 9, 23 and June 6, 20, 2024
- Committee would like meetings set up for the rest of the year so it is on their calendars rather than just through August. This will allow the committee to work on the Appendix after the standard is finished.

D. ICC A117.1 development procedures – NA

E. Review of Proposals:

```
Chapter 7
      07-19 – Final Action is AM BC2
             BC2 and PC2
             AM 17-7-2
             Errata to PC2 – should read the same as BC2.
                 Modification
                                    24-0-1
             PC1 -AS 5-14-0
             BC1, BC3-BC5 No action
      07-02 - Final Action is D
             BC2 - AS 7-8-2
             BC1 – D 15-1-3
      07-04 - Final Action is AM
             BC1 No action
      07-06 - Final Action is D
             BC1 - AS 2-16-2
      07-07 – comment is out of scope
      07-09 AM 16-7-2
```

- Currently on hold for later meetings
 - o Editorial
 - E-03 with revised proposal from editorial
 - E-05
 - o Chapter 4
 - 04-06 hold for coordination
 - Chapter 5
 - 05-16 new standard hold till end of agenda or standard available
 - Chapter 6
 - 06-01 hold for editorial
 - 06-02 hold for editorial
 - 06-10 hold for editorial
 - 06-15 PC1 hold for editorial
 - 06-27 hold for editorial
 - 06-32 PC1 hold for editorial
 - 06-34 PC1 hold for editorial
 - 06-38 PC1 hold for editorial
 - 06-86 hold for editorial
 - 06-89 hold for editorial

F. New business:

G. Future meetings:

- 1. Calls will be every other Thursday, from Noon to 4:00 pm Eastern.
 - The meeting dates for 2022 are: March 10, 24; April 7, 21; May 5, 19; June 2, 16, 30; July 14, 28; August 11, 25; Sept. 8, 22; Oct. 6, 20; Nov. 3, 17; Dec. 1, 15, 2022.
 - Meeting dates for 2023 are:
 Jan. 5 and 19, Feb. 2 and 16, March 2, 16 and 30, April 13 and 27, May 11 and 25, June 8 and 22, July 13, 27, August 10, 24, Sept. 14, 28, Oct. 12, 26, Nov. 9 (not the 23rd since this is Thanksgiving), Dec. 7 and 21, 2023
 - Meeting dates for the 2024 are:
 Jan. 4, 18, Feb. 1, 15, 29, March 14, 28, April 11, 25, May 9, 23 and June 6, 20, 2024.
- 2. Information on the meetings and development of the 2023 edition of the standard will be posted at ICC A117.1 webpage
- 3. Any questions contact Karl Aittaniemi; kaittaniemi@iccsafe; 888-422-7233, Ext. 4205
- **H. Adjourn** Meeting was adjourned at 4:35.