

# ICC (ASC A117) CONSENSUS COMMITTEE ON ACCESSIBLE AND USABLE BUILDINGS AND FACILITIES

## A117.1 Committee Minutes #62 Thursday, August 15, 2024 12-4 Eastern

Chair: Ken Schoonover Vice-chair: Gina Hilberry

Secretariat: Karl Aittaniemi; kaittaniemi@iccsafe; 888-422-7233, Ext. 4205

Please send requests for accommodations to Karl at least 5 business days before the call.

### **Committee members:**

- Ken Schoonover, Chair, Individual Member
- Jessica Archer, TGT, Alternate
- Tara Barthelmess, NC OSFM, Principal
- Kevin Brinkman, NEII, Principal
- Wayne Broadfield- Paralyzed Veterans of America, Principal
- Kevin Carr, NFPA, Principal
- Gregory Ceton, Pool & Hot Tub Alliance, principal
- Shannon Chasteen, AEMA, Principal
- Bill Conner ASTC Alternate
- Daniel Dain, AIA Principal
- Glenn Dea, International Sign Association, Principal
- Tony Gambrall, BHMA, Alternate
- Brad Gaskins, NACS, Principal
- Alan Gettelman, Individual Member
- Jenifer Gilliland, WABO Principal
- John S. Gonzalez: ICC (Alternate)
- Kim Goss, Accessibility Professionals Association, Alternate
- Cody Gunn, Alternate Target Corporation
- Dennis Hall, CSI, Principal
- Gina Hilberry, UCP. Principal, Vice-Chair
- Robert Kelly, Montgomery County Principal
- Matt Lescher, NATO, Principal
- Simon Majarian, SEGD, Alternate
- Marsha Mazz, United Spinal Association, Principal
- Jeffrey Munsterteiger, NAHB, Alternate
- Dan O'Gorman, ASPE, Principal
- Kimberly Paarlberg, ICC, Principal
- Rex Pace, HUD, Principal
- Barbara Padilla, AHLA, Alternate
- Jake Pauls, Individual Member

- Lucy Pereira, International Sign Association, Alternate
- Kenny Peskin, Int'l Sign Association, Alternate
- Kurt Roeper Builders Hardware Manufacturers Association, Principal
- Ed Roether, Individual Member
- Nathan Roether, United Spinal Association, Alternate
- Stan Ross NMGCD Principal
- Josh Schorr, US Access Board, Principal
- Leslie Shankman-Cohn, ASID, Principal
- Pat Sheehan, ACB, Principal
- Koni Sims, ACB, Alternate
- John Torkelson, Accessibility Professionals Association, Principal
- Dorothy Ally Watts, Hearing Loss Association of America, Alternate
- Richard Williams, WABO Alternate
- R Duane Wilson, ASTC, Principal
- Scott Windley, HUD, Alternate
- Mary Winkler, ASSP, alternate

## **Interested parties:**

- Charles V Barlow, EverGlow NA, Inc.
- Maggie Calkins, IDEAS Institute and SAGE
- Amy Carpenter, SFCS Architects
- Alicia Chavez, Ca Division of the State Architect
- Thomas Hirsch, FAIA, HIRSCH GROUP ARCHITECTURE
- Hoyt Jeter, City of Tacoma
- Robert Dale Lynch, representative of the Brain Injury Association of America
- Ben Perreault, Bradley Company
- Ashley Pitts, Jensen Hughes
- Larry M Schneider, AIA Individual
- Thomas Zuzik Jr, of Railingcodes.com Representing NOMMA.org

### **Logistics**

- 1) Minutes for 6-20, 2024m 7-18-2024 and 8-1-2024, Agenda for 8-15-2024 were approved
- 2) Work groups –
- Reach over a counter 3rd presentation April 27, 2023; meetings TBD
- 06-13 meetings TBD
- Adult changing April 25, 2024 presentation -meeting TBD
- Assisted toileting and bathing meeting TBD
- Scoping April 7, 2022 presentation meetings TBD
- Accessible bathing April 21, 2022 presentation meeting TBD
- Accessible Communication Features for the Built Environment meeting TBD
- Walking and Wheeled Surfaces meetings TBD
- Membership committee –
- Terminology/Editorial task group approved by consensus vote. Marsha Mazz to

chair. Meeting Sept. 7, 21, Oct. 5, 19, Nov. 2, 16, 30, Dec. 14, 2023; Jan. 11, 25, Feb. 8, 22, March 7, 21, April 4, 18, May 2, 16, 30, June 13, 27, July 11, 25, August 8, 22, Sept. 5, 19, Oct. 3, 17, 31, Nov. 14, 2024

#### **B.** Administrative items

- The revised proposals are available at A117.1 Public proposals 2-8-2022
- Information on the meetings and development of the 2023 edition of the standard will be posted at <u>A117.1 webpage</u>
- Ballots for proposals heard through July 28, 2022 were sent to the committee. Deadline for the ballot was **Sept. 6, 2022.**
- Ballots for proposals heard through January 19, 2023 were sent to the committee. Deadline for the ballot was **March 6, 2023.**
- Ballots for proposals heard through May 11, 2023 and public comment agenda were sent to the committee. Deadline for the ballot was **July 31, 2023.**
- Ballots for 2017 A117.1 supplement for 06-90-2021 were due **Nov. 13, 2023.** 
  - Meeting dates for the 2024 are: Jan. 4, 18, Feb. 1, 15, 29, March 14, 28, April 11, 25, May 9, 23, June 6, 20, July 18, August 1, 15, 29, Sept. 12, 26, Oct. 10, 24, Nov. 7, 21, Dec. 5, 19, 2024.

## C. ICC A117.1 development procedures –

Laurie Rich spoke to the committee about ICC's current program to improve accessibility for the ICC website and documentation

Discussion of outstanding items – Meeting on August 29 is cancelled Discussion of item remaining on agenda – 04-06, 05-16, 08-08 04-06 was assigned to work group for Ed Steinfeld; but this work group has not met

## D. Review of Proposals:

Editorial

E11-24 – AS 18-1-5

Chapter 8

08-08 tabled till 8-29-2024

Chapter 11

11-15 – Final Action is As Submitted BC1 No Action

11-16 – Final Action is Disapproval BC1 Requesting D – 18-0-6

11-18 - Final Action is Disapproval BC1 Requesting D – 22-2-4

11-19 Final Action is Disapproval BC1 Request D 22-3-2.

#### PC1 no action

- 11-21 (Finalized: AM by PC 11-9-23; see 03-10)
- 11-24 (PC1 hold for editorial)
- 11-25 Final action is Part 2 AM by committee action
  - BC1 Request AM 6-10-4
  - BC2 No action
- Currently on hold for later meetings
  - Editorial
    - E-03 with revised proposal from editorial
    - E-05
  - o Chapter 4
    - 04-06 hold for coordination
  - Chapter 5
    - 05-16 new standard hold till end of agenda or standard available
  - Chapter 6
    - 06-01 hold for editorial
    - 06-02 hold for editorial
    - 06-10 hold for editorial
    - 06-27 hold for editorial
    - 06-32 PC1 hold for editorial
    - 06-34 PC1 hold for editorial
    - 06-38 PC1 hold for editorial
    - 06-86 hold for editorial
    - 06-89 hold for editorial
  - o Chapter 8
    - 08-08– hold special work group
  - o Chapter 9
    - 09-03– PC1 hold for editorial
  - o Chapter 11
    - 11-04— hold for editorial
    - 11-05— hold for editorial
    - 11-19– PC1 hold for editorial
    - 11-24— PC1 hold for editorial

#### F. New business:

## **G.** Future meetings:

- 1. Calls will be every other Thursday, from Noon to 4:00 pm Eastern.
  - The meeting dates for 2022 are: March 10, 24; April 7, 21; May 5, 19; June 2, 16, 30; July 14, 28; August 11, 25; Sept. 8, 22; Oct. 6, 20; Nov. 3, 17; Dec. 1, 15, 2022.
  - Meeting dates for 2023 are:

- Jan. 5 and 19, Feb. 2 and 16, March 2, 16 and 30, April 13 and 27, May 11 and 25, June 8 and 22, July 13, 27, August 10, 24, Sept. 14, 28, Oct. 12, 26, Nov. 9 (not the 23<sup>rd</sup> since this is Thanksgiving), Dec. 7 and 21, 2023
- Meeting dates for the 2024 are:
- Jan. 4, 18, Feb. 1, 15, 29, March 14, 28, April 11, 25, May 9, 23 and June 6, 20, July 18, August 1, 15, 29, Sept. 12, 26, Oct. 10, 24, Nov. 7, 21, Dec. 5, 19, 2024.
- 2. Information on the meetings and development of the 2023 edition of the standard will be posted at ICC A117.1 webpage
- 3. Any questions contact Karl Aittaniemi; kaittaniemi@iccsafe; 888-422-7233, Ext. 4205
- **H. Adjourn** Meeting was adjourned at 4:15.