

# ICC (ASC A117) CONSENSUS COMMITTEE ON ACCESSIBLE AND USABLE BUILDINGS AND FACILITIES

# A117.1 Committee Minutes #40 Thursday, September 14, 2023 12-4 Eastern

**Chair:** Ken Schoonover **Vice-chair:** Gina Hilberry

Secretariat: Karl Aittaniemi; kaittaniemi@iccsafe; 888-422-7233, Ext. 4205

Please send requests for accommodations to Karl at least 5 business days before the call.

#### 1) Welcome and Introductions

1) Call to order – the meeting was called to order at 12:00 Eastern

2) Meeting attendance:

## **Committee members:**

Ken Schoonover, Chair, Individual Member

Shahriar Amiri, VBCOA, Principal

Gene Boecker, NATO alt

Wayne Broadfield, Paralyzed Veterans of America (Alternate)

Dan Buuck, NAHB, Principal

Tara Barthelmess, NCDOI & OSFM, Principal

Kevin Carr, NFPA, Principal

John Catlett, JD Catlett Consulting, LLC for Building Owners and Managers

International, Principle Gregory Ceton, PHTA

David Cooper, SMA, Principal

Daniel Dain, AIA Principal

Brad Gaskins, NACS, Principal

Alan Gettelman, Individual Member

Jenifer Gilliland, WABO, Principal

John S. Gonzalez – ICC (Alternate)

Greg Guarnaccia, Illuminating Engineering Society (Principal)

Glenn Hedman, RESNA, Alternate

Gina Hilberry, Vice-Chair, Principal UCP

Matt Lescher, NATO, Principal

George Lim, SEGD – Alternate

Bob Lynch, Representing The Brain Injury Association of America.

Simon Majarian, SEGD - Alternate

Carolyn Majowka, VBCOA, Alternate

Marsha Mazz, United Spinal Association, Principal

Eunice Noell-Waggoner, Proxy for Sharon Toji, Communications Task Group

Daniel O'Gorman, ASPE, Principal

Kimberly Paarlberg, ICC, Principal

Rex Pace, HUD, Principal

Barbara Padilla - AHLA - Alternate

Jake Pauls, Individual Member

Kenny Peskin, International Sign Association, Alternate

Richard Roberts, Honeywell representing NEMA

Ed Roether, Individual Member

Nathan Roether, United Spinal – Alternate

Stan Ross, GCD Principal

Pam Schooler, PE, NCDOI/OSFM (Alternate)

Jessica Schrader, SEGD - Principal

Leslie Shankman-Cohn, ASID, Principal

Koni Sims, Alternate, ACB

Ed Steinfeld, RESNA, Principal

Kyle Thompson, PMI, Principal

Richard Williams, WABO Alternate

R Duane Wilson, ASTC, Principal

Mary Winkler, American Society of Safety Professionals (ASSP), Alternate

# **Interested parties:**

Angeline Aradanas-Hall, RA, ASID – Hall Architects

Jackson Arnold, CAS Inc.

Charles V Barlow, EverGlow NA, Inc.

Shannon Chasteen, Cibes Symmetry

Ronald Crouch, AIA - Moseley Architects

Ramesh Gulatee/NCARB, Architect

Thomas Hirsch, FAIA HIRSCH GROUP ARCHITECTURE

Hoyt Jeter, PE/ City of Tacoma

Tami Kump, AIA, Knothe Bruce Architects

Laurel W. Wright, NCOSFM, Ret.

### **B.** Logistics

- 1) Minutes for 8-24-2023; agenda for 9-14-2023 were approved
- 2) Work groups –
- Reach over a counter 3rd presentation April 27, 2023; meetings TBD
- 06-13 meetings TBD
- Adult changing Meeting June 27, 2023
- Assisted toileting and bathing March 24, 2022 presentation meeting TBD
- Scoping April 7, 2022 presentation meetings TBD
- Accessible bathing April 21, 2022 presentation meeting TBD
- Accessible Communication Features for the Built Environment meeting every other Wednesday, 1-3 Eastern;
  - o Eunice Noell-Waggoner to be co-chair of task group
- Walking and Wheeled Surfaces meetings TBD
- Terminology meeting April 17, June 12, 26, July 10, 17, 24, 2023 meetings TBD
- Membership committee letter for non-participation in development.

• Editorial – task group approved by consensus vote. Marsha Mazz to chair. Meeting Sept. 7, 21, Oct. 5, 19, Nov. 2, 16, 30, Dec. 14, 2023

#### C. Administrative items

- The revised proposals are available at A117.1 Public proposals 2-8-2022
- Information on the meetings and development of the 2023 edition of the standard will be posted at A117.1 webpage
- Ballots for proposals heard through July 28, 2022 were sent to the committee. Deadline for the ballot was **Sept. 6, 2022.**
- Ballots for proposals heard through January 19, 2023 were sent to the committee. Deadline for the ballot was **March 6, 2023.**
- Ballots for proposals heard through May 11, 2023 and public comment agenda were sent to the committee. Deadline for the ballot was **July 31, 2023.**
- Revised meeting dates
  - o July 27, August 10, 24 are current summer dates
  - o Revised dates are: Sept. 14, 28, Oct. 12, 26, Nov. 9 (not the 23<sup>rd</sup> since this is Thanksgiving), Dec. 7 and 21.

## D. ICC A117.1 development procedures –

## **E.** Review of Proposals:

```
Chapter 1
```

01-05 on hold till 9-28-2023

01-06 on hold till 9-28-2023

#### Chapter 3

03-02 – split the question – clear floor space/turning space

- Turning space AS 13-12-3 Chair voted; D 20-7-3
- Clear floor space AS 14-12-4

03-03 AS 8-14-2; D 21-4-2

03-04 AM 16-2-0 (conflict with 304.2)

- Mod to 304.3 10-11-3
- Mod 2 to 304.3 18-2-0

#### Remainder to agenda for 9-28-2023

03-05

03-06

03-07

03-08

03-09

03-10,11-07 and 11-21

03-16

03-17, 09-05

#### F. New business:

### **G.** Future meetings:

- 1. Calls will be every other Thursday, from Noon to 4:00 pm Eastern.
  - a. The meeting dates for 2022 are:
  - b. March 10, 24; April 7, 21; May 5, 19; June 2, 16, 30; July 14, 28; August 11, 25; Sept. 8, 22; Oct. 6, 20; Nov. 3, 17; Dec. 1, 15, 2022.
  - c. Meeting dates for 2023 are:
  - d. Jan. 5 and 19, Feb. 2 and 16, March 2, 16 and 30, April 13 and 27, May 11 and 25, June 8 and 22, July 13, 27, August 10, 24, Sept. 14, 28, Oct. 12, 26, Nov. 9 (not the 23<sup>rd</sup> since this is Thanksgiving), Dec. 7 and 21, 2023
- 2. Information on the meetings and development of the 2023 edition of the standard will be posted at ICC A117.1 webpage
- 3. Any questions contact Karl Aittaniemi; kaittaniemi@iccsafe; 888-422-7233, Ext. 4205
- **H. Adjourn** Meeting was adjourned at 3:50.