

# ICC (ASC A117) CONSENSUS COMMITTEE ON ACCESSIBLE AND USABLE BUILDINGS AND FACILITIES

# A117.1 Committee Minutes #19 Thursday, Nov. 3, 2022 12-4 Eastern

Chair: Ken Schoonover Vice-chair: Gina Hilberry

Secretariat: Karl Aittaniemi; kaittaniemi@iccsafe; 888-422-7233, Ext. 4205

Please send requests for accommodations to Karl at least 5 business days before the call.

## 1) Welcome and Introductions

- 1) Call to order the meeting was called to order at 12:00 Eastern
- 2) Meeting attendance: Committee members
  - Ken Schoonover, Chair Individual Member
  - Doug Anderson AHLA, Principal
  - Julius Ballanco, ASPE, Alternate
  - Tara Barthelmess, NCDOI & OSFM, Principal
  - Hansel Bauman, NAD Principal
  - Gene Boecker, NATO, Alternate
  - Kevin Brinkman, NEII, principal
  - Wayne Broadfield- Paralyzed Veterans of America (Alternate)
  - Dan Buuck, NAHB, principal
  - Nicholas Capezza, PHTA (Principal)
  - Kevin Carr, NFPA, Principal
  - John Catlett, BOMA, Principal
  - David W. Cooper, SMA principal
  - Glenn Dea, International Sign Association, Principal
  - Brad Gaskins, NACS Principal
  - Alan Gettelman, Individual Member
  - Jenifer Gilliland, WABO Principal
  - John S. Gonzalez ICC (Alternate)
  - Greg Guarnaccia, Illuminating Engineering Society (Principal)
  - Dennis J. Hall, FAIA, Construction Specifications Institute, Principal
  - Glenn Hedman, RESNA, Alternate
  - Gina Hilberry, UCP, Principal & Vice-Chair
  - Matt Lescher, NATO, Principal
  - George Lim, SEGD (Alternate)
  - Allison Lourash, LPA, Principal
  - Simon Majarian, SEGD (Alternate)
  - Marsha Mazz, United Spinal Association, Principal

- Sean McNamara, Target Corp (Alternate)
- Eunice Noell-Waggoner, IES (Alternate)
- Rex Pace, HUD, Principal
- Kenny Peskin, International Sign Association, Alternate
- Hope Reed, NMGCD Alternate
- Ed Roether, Individual Principal
- Nathan Roether, United Spinal Association, Alternate
- Stan Ross, NM Governor's Commission on Disability, Principal
- Josh Schorr, US Access Board, alternate
- Leslie Shankman-Cohn, ASID (Principal)
- Pat Sheehan ACB Principal
- Ed Steinfeld, RESNA, Principal
- Kyle Thompson, PMI, Principal
- Richard Williams, WABO (Alternate)
- R Duane Wilson, ASTC, Principal
- Scott Windley, US Access Board, Principal

# Interested parties:

- Karen Gridley, Minnesota Dept. Of Labor and Industry, Construction Codes Division
- Thomas Hirsch, FAIA HIRSCH GROUP ARCHITECTURE
- Tami Kump, AIA, Knothe Bruce Architects
- Steve Orlowski, Sundowne Building Code Consultants, LLC (Self)
- Kurt Roeper Builders Hardware Manufacturers Association
- Zane Teague, Stern-Williams Co.
- Sharon Toji, HLAA, Principal
- Brian K. Willis, P.E. Self
- Laurel W. Wright, NCOSFM, Ret.
- Jeff Yanke, CASp Evan Terry Associates
- Bill Zellmer, AIA, CASp Sutter Health Sacramento, CA
- Thomas Zuzik Jr Railingcodes.com Representing NOMMA.org

#### **B.** Logistics

- 1) Minutes for 10-20-2022 were approved
- 2) Work groups –
- Reach over a counter meetings Nov. 4
- 06-13 meetings Nov. 10
- Adult changing 2nd presentation May 19 meetings TBD
- Assisted toileting and bathing March 24 presentation meeting TBD
- Scoping April 7 presentation meetings TBD
- Accessible bathing April 21 presentation meeting Nov. 1
- Accessible Communication Features for the Built Environment meeting every other Wednesday, starting May 25, 1-3 Eastern
- Walking and Wheeled Surfaces meeting TBD

#### C. Administrative items

- The revised proposals are available at <u>A117.1 Public proposals 2-8-2022</u>
- Information on the meetings and development of the 2023 edition of the standard will be posted at <u>A117.1 webpage</u>
- Ballots for proposals heard through July 28, 2022 were sent to the committee. Deadline was **Sept. 6, 2022.**

## D. ICC A117.1 development procedures –

# E) Review of Proposals:

The following proposals were decided during the call. See the report for official committee reasons and final actions. Any items remaining on the agenda will roll to the next agenda -

```
06-55 – AS 2-31-2; D 29-3-1 (06-55 and 06-70 voted together)
06-70 - AS 2-31-2; D 29-3-1
06-51 – D 25-1-0
06-56 – AS 21-9-3
06-57 – AS 19-10-2
06-58 – Modification from Brady – failed 7-20-4; AM 26-4-2
06-60 - Modification 23-2-2; AM 29-0-3 (Staff note)
06-61 - Mod 23-2-1 Section 608.3.2, Mod 21-2-1 to 608.2.2; AM 21-2-1 (modification to 608.3.2 editorial)
06-62 – modification – hold till 11-17-2022
06-63 – D 24-0-2
06-64 – AS 20-1-3
06-65 – AM 24-0-0
06-71 – D 24-1-0
06-72 - Mod to 608.7 – 15-5-1; As modified 18-2-1
```

#### F) New business:

## **G)** Future meetings:

- Calls will be every other Thursday, from Noon to 4:00 pm Eastern.
   The meeting dates for this year are:
   March 10, 24; April 7, 21; May 5, 19; June 2, 16, 30; July 14, 28; August 11, 25;
   Sept. 8, 22; Oct. 6, 20; Nov. 3, 17; Dec. 1, 15, 2022.
- 2) Information on the meetings and development of the 2023 edition of the standard will be posted at ICC A117.1 webpage
- 3) Any questions contact Karl Aittaniemi; kaittaniemi@iccsafe; 888-422-7233, Ext. 4205
- **H)** Adjourn Meeting was adjourned at 4:00.