

ICC (ASC A117) CONSENSUS COMMITTEE ON ACCESSIBLE AND USABLE BUILDINGS AND FACILITIES

A117.1 Committee Minutes Thursday, June 2, 2022 12-4 Eastern

Chair: Ken Schoonover Vice-chair: Gina Hilberry Secretariat: Karl Aittaniemi; kaittaniemi@iccsafe; 888-422-7233, Ext. 4205 Please send requests for accommodations to Karl at least 5 business days before the call.

1) Welcome and Introductions

- 1) Call to order the meeting was called to order at 12:00 Eastern
- 2) Meeting attendance: Committee members
 - Ken Schoonover, Chair Individual Member
 - Doug Anderson, AHLA, Principal
 - Tara Barthelmess, NC Office of the State Fire Marshal, Principal
 - Trent Behr, NEII (Alternate) representing Kevin Brinkman
 - Billie Louise(Beezy) Bentzen, AERBVI principal
 - Gene Boecker, NATO alternate
 - Wayne Broadfield, Paralyzed Veterans of America (Alternate)
 - Dan Buuck, NAHB (Principal)
 - Nicholas Capezza, PHTA, Principal
 - Kevin Carr, NFPA, Principal
 - Paula Cino, National Multifamily Housing Council, Principal
 - Dave Collins, AIA, Principal
 - William Conner ASTC alternate
 - David W. Cooper, SMA, Principal
 - Glenn Dea, International Sign Association (Principal)
 - Brad Gaskins, NACS, Principal
 - Alan Gettelman, individual
 - John S. Gonzalez ICC Alternate
 - Greg Guarnaccia, Illuminating Engineering Society (Principal)
 - Dennis J. Hall, CSI, principal
 - Glenn Hedman, RESNA Alternate
 - Gina Hilberry, UCP, Principal
 - Matt Lescher, NATO, Principal
 - Allison Lourash, LPA, Principal
 - Marsha Mazz (United Spinal Association), principal
 - Susan Morgan, ASID alternate

- Eunice Noell-Waggoner, IES, Alternate
- Kimberly Paarlberg, ICC, principal
- Rex Pace, HUD, Principal
- Jake Pauls, Individual Member
- William Richardson, AEMA, Principal
- Richard Roberts, NEMA Principle
- Ed Roether, individual member
- Nathan Roether, United Spinal alternate
- Stan Ross GCD Principal
- Josh Schorr, US Access Board, alternate
- Kyle Thompson, PMI (Principal)
- Michael Tierney, BHMA Principal
- Sharon Toji, Hearing Loss Association of America, Principal
- R Duane Wilson, American Society of Theatre Consultants, Principal
- Scott Windley US Access Board, Primary

Interested parties:

- Mike Anthony, University of Michigan
- Amy Carpenter, SFCS Architects
- Ron Crouch, AIA Moseley Architects. Richmond, VA
- Steve Dombrowski, Endelman & Associates
- Karen Gridley Minnesota DLI/CCLD Construction Code Division
- Brian Henks, AIA AIA-AAH Codes and Standards
- Thomas Hirsch, FAIA, Madison Wis
- Jeff Koffron City of Cedar Rapids
- Tami Kump, AIA Knothe Bruce Architects, Middleton, WI
- Cesar Lujan WDMA
- Simon Majarian SEGD / SKA Design
- Ramiro Mata ASPE
- James A Mehaffey, RLPS Architects
- Dave Monsour, DASMA (Door & Access Systems Manufacturers Association)
- Steve Orlowski
- Larry Perry, AIA, representing self
- Ashley Pitts Jensen Hughes
- Jay Woodward ICC
- Laurel W. Wright, NCOSFM, Ret.
- Bill Zellmer AIA, Certified Access Specialist Sacramento, CA

B. Logistics

- 1) Minutes for 5-19-2022 were approved
- 2) Work groups –
- Reach over a counter meetings June 3 from 11-1 Eastern
- Stanchions for bathtubs and showers meetings TBD

- Adult changing 2nd presentation May 19 meetings TBD
- Assisted toileting and bathing March 24 presentation meeting TBD
- Scoping April 7 presentation meetings TBD
- Accessible bathing April 21 presentation meeting TBD
- Accessible Communication Features for the Built Environment meeting every other Wednesday, starting May 25, 1-3 Eastern
- Walking and Wheeled Surfaces meeting TBD
- 3) ICC and Accessibility Standards Canada agreement Karl gave brief explanation; committee sent press release with meeting reminder

C. Administrative items

- The revised proposals are available at <u>A117.1 Public proposals 2-8-2022</u>
- Information on the meetings and development of the 2023 edition of the standard will be posted at <u>A117.1 webpage</u>

D. ICC A117.1 development procedures -

- Ken had to leave after 1-1/2 hours (left 1:45 Eastern). Gina will take over. When Gina has to leave the meeting will adjourn.
- Sharon Toji asked about moving 05-10 to 05-15 to communications task group; right now it has been moved to the end of Chapter 5 so task group can review during their next call.

E) Review of Proposals:

1) Proposals:

The following proposals were decided during the call. See the report for official committee reasons and final actions. Any items remaining on the agenda will roll to the next agenda -

04-13; mod: restore to original "of the surface <u>of the door or gate</u>" (27-0-3); remove commas in Exception 4; AM (29-0-4)

05-01 AS (3-22-8); D (27-1-5)

05-02 AS (2-20-9); D (22-1-6)

05-03 mod: further modify "in parking lots and parking garages" (23-2-3); AM (20-0-1)

05-04 AS (2-19-4) D (25-0-4)

05-05 further modify: <u>lowest each</u> (2-17-3); further modify: <u>lowest sign required</u> <u>by this section</u> (25-3-4); AM (25-2-1)

F) **New business:** None

G) **Future meetings:**

- Calls will be every other Thursday, from Noon to 4:00 pm Eastern. The meeting dates for this year are: June 16, 30; July 14, 28; August 11, 25; Sept. 8, 22; Oct. 6, 20; Nov. 3, 17; Dec. 1, 15, 2022.
- 2) Information on the meetings and development of the 2023 edition of the standard will be posted at <u>ICC A117.1 webpage</u>
- Any questions contact Karl Aittaniemi; kaittaniemi@iccsafe; 888-422-7233, Ext. 4205
- **H**) **Adjourn** Meeting was adjourned at 3:20.