

Annual Fire Service Membership Council (FSMC) Meeting – Sunday September 29<sup>th</sup> 3:00 – 6:00 PM

## **Combined Councils Meeting Summary**

- 1. Election of three At-Large Members to the Governing Committee led by Nominating Committee member Marc Sampson
  - Report of Nominating Committee
  - ➤ Ballot for Governing Committee open seats. Nominations were properly opened and closed for each position. Elected were Fulton Cochran, Ronny Coleman and Adolf Zubia; each for a three year term.
- 2. Presentation from Michelle Porter Certification Department and BIPS update
- 3. Presentation by Secretary-Treasurer Guy Tomberlin on vision 2023 initiative by ICC Board
- 4. Awards presentation by Global Membership Council
- 5. Awards presentation by PMGFG Membership Council

## **FSMC Meeting Summary**

- 1. Welcome Remarks Meeting Chaired by Chairman Fulton Cochran. Chairman Cochran introduced ICC Executive Committee and Board Members and Staff present; all members of the Governing Committee and FSMC members present made self-introductions.
- 2. Report from Chairman Chairman Cochran gave an update on the presentation made to the ICC Board of Directors Annual Report of FSMC Activities for the past year along with a joint presentation with BOMC GC Chairman Steve Shapiro on the collaboration between the two councils over the past year.
  - Chairman Cochran proceeded to present Certificates of Appreciation to FSMC GC members and previous International Fire Code Council Chairs and staff as part of ICC ten year anniversary celebration. Recognized for their service to ICC and the fire service with an ICC Commemorative Anniversary Coin and Certificate were: Fulton Cochran, Mel Cosgrove, Dwayne Garriss, Jackie Gibbs, Tom Lariviere, Emory Rogers, Kevin Scott and Jim Tidwell.
- 3. Election of Governing Committee Officers. Ronny Coleman acted as Election Chairman. Nominations were properly opened and closed for each position. A motion was made and properly second to re-elect Fulton Cochran as Chair and Jackie Gibbs as Vice Chairman



of the FSMC Governing Committee for 2014. Vote for approval was unanimous for Chair and Vice-Chair by all Governing Committee members present.

- 4. Staff provided an update on the status of MOU appointments to the Governing committee.
- 5. Chairman Cochran expanded on the joint activities with the BOMC and reported on the creation of a joint Steering Committee to oversee the activities on the joint Work Groups and future activities. The focus of the work will now be on training and education programs and coordination with Doug Thornburgh and the Training and Education staff.
- 6. Each Work Group Provided a brief update on their activities:

Newsletter and Website—Inaugural FSMC Quarterly Newsletter distributed in July; Work Group will now be focusing on the website updates.

Building Safety Month & Fire Prevention Month – Many articles have been submitted to Building safety Journal

Recruitment and Mentoring – Scott Adams, Ronny Coleman and Kelly Nicolello will deliver a 3-Hour Workshop on Tuesday for new members attending their first ICC Code Hearing. Scott and Terry Cobb also hosting a Cracker barrel Table on Wednesday. Chairman Cochran would like to focus on recruiting members to the FSMC this year.

## 7. Open Discussion/New Business

Chairman Cochran asked for volunteers to support the new Fire Sprinkler and Fire Alarm Exam Development committees (EDCs) with creating the "Job Task Analysis" that is the first step in creating the Exams.

There was a discussion about the Membership Resolution to extend the ICC Code Development Cycle to not exceed 5 years. After discussion, Ronny Coleman made a MOTION to oppose the resolution and to speak in opposition at the Business Meeting/SECOND by Adolf Zubia. Motion was Unanimous. Chairman Cochran agreed to developed talking points and percent jointly with BOMC GC Chairman Steve Shapiro, if BOMC concurs with opposition. Footnote –Fulton Cochran and Steve Shapiro jointly spoke in opposition to the proposed resolution and it was defeated by the membership.

8. There was a motion and a second to adjourn the Annual Meeting. Meeting adjourned at 6:15 PM

Note: Approximately 30 people attended all or part of the meeting.

## Governing Committee Members Present:

Chairman Fulton Cochran Scott Adams Ronny Coleman Sean DeCrane Tonya Hoover Rick McCullough Marc Sampson

Jeff Shapiro William St. Michel Adolf Zubia

Bill Bryant, Board Liaison Bruce E. Johnson, staff